Tummy Upset

So I went to bed at old lady time last night, before 10pm! Due to that I was up by 7am, ready to start on my epically long to-do list. I cleaned the kitchen, did laundry, made the bed, hung up clothes, did the dishes, got packages together for mailing, and even started on some homework..

DSC01757

Around 9am though I finally figured out what I wanted for breakfast. Kodiak Cakes! Made super thin and drizzled with maple syrup and topped with fresh banana and toasted cashews. Super tasty.

Next up I did a lot of homework and still felt like I didn’t make a dent. =( Also…my stomach was stupid sick all morning, even before the pancakes. I felt like I kept having to head to the restroom.

DSC01758

And then I stupidly had the worst lunch I could have with that stomach. Spicy nopales salad mixed with wheat berries (maybe half of what’s pictured), a few graham crackers with PB..

DSC01759 

And once my stomach was on fire with spicy and acid, I tried to help it with a cooling Chobani Champion Tube in blueberry. Wow did I feel unwell.

Eventually I got dressed in my workout gear and almost made it to the gym…but as I felt like I needed to rush to the restroom I knew it was not the time to go move my body. =/ Gotta accept when I gotta stay put.

After showering and cleaning more I eventually walked to the store.

DSC01760

Wheat Thins and San Pellegrino Limonata soda actually really helped. I’m normally not one with the bubbly, but this made my tummy less angry.

DSC01761

I’ve realized what one of my comfort foods are: Japanese curry rice! This one made with: tofu, broccoli, carrots, red bell pepper, and sweet potato on top of black forbidden rice. (P.s. I realized I don’t have a rice cooker anymore! I can’t believe it.)

A lot of people ask me what’s the difference between Japanese curry and other curries such as Thai. Well, I’m no expert, but I will say that Japanese curries aren’t made with coconut milk bases. They also tend to be way more on the sweeter side. It’s the only curry I like!

DSC01763

Having given up on the rest of my homework to do list….I spent the rest of the evening watching TV, cross stitching (!!), drinking hot cocoa..and eventually struggling with emotional eating with Wheat Thins and cheese. =/ Honestly, I really need to work on this.

  1. Am I biologically hungry? No, I definitely wasn’t. I even asked myself this and came to that conclusion.
  2. What am I feeling? I asked this too, and I was definitely just bored but antsy about all the work I should have been working on.
  3. What do I need? I really needed to do something that would help me relax and not worry about the things I should do. I should have worked on the letter I want to write to a friend or went and read one of my books. Just anything that would have had me more involved than simply watching a TV show.

It’s so much easier to do this after the fact than in the moment. =/ I feel sick.

2 thoughts on “Tummy Upset

  1. I LOVE that Robyn! No matter what we are always a work in progress and even though you checked in with yourself and still ended up eating the crackers etc you were still aware of what you were doing and made a choice. I think it gets easier over time but if we just keep trying it becomes a less frequent thing (at least I hope so. ;))

Leave a Reply

