‘Twas the Day Before Christmas

Merry Christmas everyone! I’m realizing that the problem with being used to getting up at 3am is that when I can finally sleep in 8am is as good as it gets. >.< My poor sister is gonna get tired of my early birdness fast me thinks. We are sharing a bed!

 photo 2 (3)

Anyway, yesterday morning was the same thing. I was up at 8 and back home with my Dad by 10am. We stopped at Treasure State Donuts though to grab a dozen and say happy holidays to my good friend, Steph! It’s always nice to see her. =)

DSC01585

When we got home we dug into yummy donut-ness. I ended up eating the Tipus’ Chai and Cardamom cake donut, half of the Raspberry Nutella Bullseye, and hours later the Turkish Mocha. O.O Yeah..I went a little donut crazy. Note to self: don’t do that.

photo 5-7

While I waited for Win’s flight to come in, I followed Dru around trying to get a good picture of the two of us. I’ve missed my Dru-Bug! This is as good as it gets. -_- She’s almost as difficult to picture as Vinni. (BTW my two fluff balls are doing great. I was sent photos of them last night!)

1489037_10152061976213898_702519958_n

At noon Win had arrived! First stop: lunch. I was surprisingly hungry after donuts. Since it was on the way from the airport and my favorite salad resides there, we ate at Sean Kelly’s Stone of Accord. Win and I decided to partake in festive alcoholic drinks! I got the Spiced Apple Pie. It was delicious.

photo 3 (2)-2

I devoured most of my favorite salad, Warm Brie Salad: mixed greens, warm brie, granny smith apple, Cajun candied walnuts, red onion, tomato, and crotons with the honey red wine vinaigrette on the side. LOVE.

photo 4 (1)-2 

Before heading home we stopped at a local Starbucks so I could grab my markout (last Xmas gift!) and a short cappuccino. The rest of the day was spent hanging out with my sister and Dru. 

DSC01590 

My family’s Christmas Eve tradition is to eat my Dad’s famous (to us) enchiladas. Mine usually contain Boca fake meat but this year I told my Dad I wanted mine filled with black beans and corn. It was outstanding! Our Spanish rice this year was also made with brown rice. I’m so proud of my dad for finally letting go of the white.

DSC01596

After a lot of talking, decorating the tree, eating, reminiscing over old photos, and raiding my mom’s closet, we had dessert of pecan pie from Costco. Ya know what? I need to remind myself that I just don’t like pecan pie! It’s too sweet. I ended up eating this whole piece anyway though because it was there. >.< Ug.

DSC01594

Win and I. What do you think, do we look like sisters?

DSC01589

It was a long evening and by the time we got back home we were all exhausted. My tradition is to always watch White Christmas on the Eve, so I did put it on while I fell asleep but didn’t see much of it. =( I’ll just have to fit it in again today!

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Leave a Reply

