Finding Hunger

 34bfcdbe5a09ea2b01fe66bc7df41959

Today I really concentrated on finding my hunger again.

DSC01557 

I wasn’t hungry in the morning. I drank an Evolution Fresh Orange juice and water to get my metabolism going while I worked more on my personal statement for one of my dietetic internship applications. It felt good to be getting some work done.

Eventually I put on my gym clothes and was about to step out the door when I acknowledged just how much pain I was in. =/ My feet and my knees were both aching. Knowing I didn’t want to hurt myself more, I got in the shower instead. I just wanted you all to know that I don’t keep working out (or trying to) out of guilt or diet thinking. I’ve been pleasantly past that. I want to workout because it makes me feel better about my life. That I’m a single woman who can take care of all her needs such as physical activity and stress management; That I can continue to do the things I enjoy on my own. That’s why I don’t just stop.

DSC01558

Once I was all made up I ended up at Starbucks to get my schedule for next week (yikes I work an 8 hour shift before getting on the plane to MT next Monday!) and getting the phone number to see if I can get my dental insurance setup. While there I grabbed a short double dirty ristretto soy chocolate chai tea latte. Mm =) I was also down in the area to stop by my old optical job to say a final goodbye to my ex-coworker, Jaycee! It was her last day there since she finally got the better job she deserves. I’m so going to miss her!

Next I went to three different grocery stores looking for sucanat for my holiday baking! Who knew this would be so hard to find! 

DSC01560

I got home around 1pm and could tell I was definitely hungry by the pain in my stomach. Luckily I’ve had this Pacific Organic Hearty Tomato Bisque stashed in my cupboard for months now! I know soups are one of the easiest things to make from scratch but I really like keeping some premade ones on hand for occasions such as these. Pacific is one of my favorite brands because of all the delicious and interesting flavors!

DSC01559 

I enjoyed some with a grilled cheese sandwich, made with Kerrygold Aged Cheddar, and a little mandarin orange. What a comforting meal!

DSC01561

Interestingly enough it seems like once I eat the hunger doesn’t go away. An hour or so later I was still hungry! I snacked on some Wheat Thins with a stick of pepper jack cheese.

1517687_10152049641508898_207693712_n 

And then I got busy! I always make cookies for the Winter Solstice. This year I made Gingerbread Molasses since I love that they are packed full of iron and whole food ingredients. It was actually really fun to get my baking on. I ended up eating three small ones with a little milk over the course of the day. ~.^ Ya know, I had to make sure they were edible.

Around 6pm, cookies baked and packaged (in fun holiday bags with ribbon!), school work done for now, kitchen cleaned, I realized my knees were feeling pretty good. I definitely wanted to try out stationary biking and see if it was easy enough on my foot so I hit the gym for a 45 minute bike. I stopped as soon as I started to feel it in my knees.

DSC01577 

Once I got back it was almost 8pm. While I couldn’t feel hunger, I decided to at least make dinner and see if once I started eating I’d be hungry. Yep, I was! Butternut squash ravioli topped with a plethora of sautéed shredded Brussels sprouts and red bell pepper mixed with Classico Spinach and Parmesan Pasta Sauce. I was sooo hungry once I started eating, but I made sure I still took my time and ate slow.

Not gonna lie, I may get hungry later and snack on some Wheat Thins. I’m loving having two days off in a row! I get to stay up late!! It’s crazy!

xmas91

To end on a more festive note: Look how cute me and Win were! I love how scared I am in this photo, clutching my sister’s hand for dear life.

I’m really trying to get into the holiday spirit. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll share my decorations! Night all.

Leave a Reply

