Emotional Eating

I feel like yesterday ended with me being really out of touch with myself.

photo 1 (1)

It started well though. I feel like as I’m growing to like myself more and more, be okay with who I am, enjoy being me, the better I look. That’s an amazing feeling. To like one’s face.

photo 2 (1)

On my 10 minute break I sipped down a ristretto triple short Americano with one raw sugar and a splash of breve. Espresso in the morning is like a warm hug.

photo 3 (1)

When it was my lunch time I was so hungry for it even though I’d been having little nibbles all morning on various samples. I think I really need to make sure I get that wake-up snack before I work! Breakfast: Weetabix, TJ’s simply almonds, cashews and cranberries Trek Mix, and a tall iced Americano with a pump of vanilla and breve.

photo 1-23

I finally got off work at 12:30pm and decided to eat lunch before my workout. I was just too hungry! I had a free reward on my Starbucks card to use so I grabbed a Hearty Veggie & Brown Rice Salad Bowl, used only a spoonful of the dressing, and chowed down. Mmm this thing tastes amazing when you need it. One of my new favorite drinks right now is a Grande Valencia Orange Refresher, no sweetener, and Passion Tea used in place of water. It’s delicious!

Once I was feeling good again I hit the gym for a ….60 minute bike! That’s right, I’m brining biking back into my workout rotation. =) I loved my hour spent reading and sweating.

photo 2-22 

Once I got home it was around 2:30pm and I was hungry? I’m not really sure if I was hungry or not but I did end up snacking. =/ Tropical Pocky and some unpictured Wheat Thins and cheese.

photo 3-12

For “dinner”, Chase and I ended up having: popcorn, umeshu, carrots and celery with ranch.

Of course this “dinner” wasn’t at all substantial so just a few hours later we found ourselves searching for more. We ended up making quesadillas with cheese, jalapenos, and salsa. Also snacked on some tortilla chips. I didn’t take a picture because by this time I really felt disconnected with my body and unsure why I was eating. =/ It felt awful.

Emotional eating is always a hard thing to overcome. Luckily, I’m taking that Intuitive Eating class right now so I can really work on it. ~.^ Let’s see, the book says to:

Ask yourself:

1. Am I biologically hungry? No. (If it had been yes, honor that and eat!)

2. What am I feeling? – write out your feelings

I was feeling empty and alone inside.

3. What do I need?

I needed to be okay with just being me, by myself, without needing anyone else to make me feel whole.

4. Ask for what you need.

I should have asked Chase for some space and went and took a bath, read a book, cross-stitched, ect., so I could work on enjoying myself. Instead I kept hanging out with him, stuffing my face to fill the void of feeling alone when you’re right next to someone.

Well that was a good exercise! I didn’t even realize what I was feeling until now. =) I hope you all are having a good Sunday! I intend to get some cleaning done. My apartment is a pig sty.

 

2 thoughts on “Emotional Eating

  1. I think it’s great you did that exercise (I am going to write it down t do myself!). It is still very new and hard for me to eat intuitively without an intense fear of gaining weight or losing control of myself. My boyfriend is great and pushes me to do exercises like this or repeat positive mantras even when I really don’t believe them. Remember that stumbling or even feeling detached are not lasting! Sending good thoughts your way 😉

Leave a Reply

