A Day Without Chase

Wow, so I’d forgotten how much time there is in a day when you have no one to answer to/worry about/ or do things with other than yourself! Chase was working all day today (8am-10pm) and by golly did I get a lot done!

DSC00163

I crawled out of bed at about 9 am and couldn’t figure out what I wanted for breakfast. Fall-back breakfast: Weetabix(!), toasted walnuts, dried cherries, banana. Oh and a side of unsweetened cranberry juice for my UTI. Whoa is this stuff tart! I kind of love it.

While I ate my breakfast I managed to have a leak in my lip that ended up with me getting cranberry juice on my brand new keyboard! O.O NOOOOO. I rushed it to the kitchen to try and clean it up as best I could. Panicking, I managed to drop the keyboard on my wrist…

photo-6

Yes, that’s a giant bruise. It hurt so bad I had to ice it. =( I am a klutz.

With all day to myself I got shit done: wrote yesterday’s blog post, paid bills, did a little online shopping, cleaned shower, cleaned kitchen, tidied up bedroom, did all the laundry (three loads!), 1 hour 30 minute hill stationary bike ride, and even gave the kittens a good combing.

DSC00165

By 1pm I was ready for a cold lunch because I was sweating away! I made a really delicious smoothie containing: 1/2 cup cranberry juice, 2 spoonfuls of Greek yogurt, 2 handfuls of fresh spinach, 1/2 cup frozen Antioxidant Berry Blend, and a squirt of honey. Yummy!! With it i had two graham crackers and a little cup of NatureBox Guacamole Bites (corn sticks with awesome flavoring). It was perfect! I always need a little texture with my smoothie…

DSC00167

The rest of my day was spent with this handsome man..

DSC00170

And this little girl who refused photographs today, working on my cross stitch. Around 3 o’clock I had a few more graham crackers but overall the lunch held me over well!

DSC00171

I did need dinner a bit early though around 5:30pm. I made scrambled eggs with a pinch of shredded cheese and mixed with the parsley pesto vegetables I made yesterday. With a side of toast and a few amazing tomatoes. It made my mouth very happy!

DSC00172

Just before starting this blog post I had a snack of graham crackers (with a little unpictured crunchy peanut butter) and a glass of milk so I could take my pills. Still have over an hour until Chase comes home!!! Guess it’s back to the cross stitch…

2 thoughts on “A Day Without Chase

  1. Oh, ouch! That looks like a vicious bruise forming there. I totally hear you on the klutziness, though. I’m *always* covered in bruises, scratches, and bumps. I’m the sort of person who will be standing still and tumble and fall over. It’s ridiculous. I have fallen down a flight of stairs before, and I wasn’t even walking down said stairwell. I somehow managed to bang the back of my arm on the side of my sister’s car while I was out visiting her, so I had a huge bruise on my thigh (probably from crashing into a table the previous week; it happens so often that I don’t even pay attention anymore) and the one on my arm during my entire vacation. I was quite a sight, since you can’t exactly cover up on the beach. XD

    Anyway, I just wanted to thank you for the intuitive eating post! It’s given me a lot to think about, and I’m very grateful for your perspective on that. I’ve been going through a really rough patch lately and my eating shows it, but I had a revelation yesterday. I’ve been craving comfort foods and indulging, and yes, overeating. But after about a week of eating tons of pb snickers, gummy bears, and too much chocolate, I got really tired of feeling bloated and shaky from all the sweets. Yes, I’m still hurting emotionally, but today I had a huge salad for lunch and balanced it with some Simply Jif and dark choccy chips after a run this evening. Anyway, what I realized is that my bad eating spell is exactly that — a temporary period where I’m consoling myself with food, and I’m not going to eat like this forever. And today I craved fresh produce and tomorrow is another day.

    So…thank you. You’re very wise and insightful, and reading your blog has been incredibly helpful in guiding me through my own IE journey. ❤

    • Kaz, I’m so glad that post helped you. Sometimes it’s hard to just take a step back and figure out why you’re eating the way you are and then accept that that isn’t permanent. Acknowledging the why is the only way to change it. If you need any more advice or just need someone to rant to, please feel free to email me anytime. I promise no topic/thought is too small!

Leave a Reply

