Carrying On

Have you ever been a part of one of those friendships that you know ended 3 years ago but you still held on to the chance that things might get better? I have. And last night it became the official end. And even though I’d been preparing for it for three years…it hurt all the same. I don’t want to go into any details but I just had to explain why I had a headache all day today and just felt like curling up, alone, in bed. I didn’t though. I picked myself up and tried to carry on.

IMG_1107

Which started with a delicious breakfast of Kodiak Cakes topped with strawberries, toasted walnuts, and just a drizzle of maple syrup.

IMG_1108

When I use maple syrup, I use the real thing. Problem is the real maple syrup never comes in the most useful of containers. Sick of accidently dumping too much syrup on my cakes (I like it really light), I finally saw this amazing idea on Pinterest and put it to use. Maple syrup in an olive oil dispenser! It works perfectly and leaves no drippy mess.

With my motivation low and a pounding headache, I spent the rest of the morning watching TV on my computer and studying biochemistry.

IMG_1109

Around 12:30pm, I made a quick lunch of reheated minestrone soup topped with a pinch of fresh parmesan, crackers, cherries, and half of a Mixed Berry Fruit and Vegetable juice.

After lunch and taking some more ibuprofen, I forced myself out into the harsh light of day and hit the gym for a hot 60 minute hill stationary bike ride.

IMG_1110

After showering I was in such a funk I could have eaten the whole house. Emotional eating…instead I allowed myself one baggie of trail mix and the rest of my juice and called it a day on snacks. I knew I was just eating to fill a void.

IMG_1111

Once Chase got home we got our chores done and reheated pizza along with the only veggies I have, frozen peas and carrots. Better than nothing right?

IMG_1112

For dessert I broke into this amazing Ghirardelli Intense Dark Chocolate – Cabernet Matinee. Hey if I can’t drink it I gotta get that amazing wine taste another way! This chocolate is really superb. Seriously, I may buy more. I also finished off the last of the cherries that were on their way out.

Still not feeling so great I think I’m just going to watch TV and attempt to study. I’m so glad I have another day off to pull myself out of this funk before all my exams this coming week.

Hope you all had a great Memorial Day weekend.

2 thoughts on “Carrying On

  1. I’m sorry about your lost friendship 😦 Hopefully something good will come out of it.

    That chocolate sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

