Video Gaming

521756_10200817010616966_1250202621_n

No inspirational quote today because this photo is inspirational enough! Congratulations to my sister, Whitney, for getting her Masters degree in Fine Arts from the University of San Diego. She finished her final thesis (and I helped with my miniscule Japanese skills!) this week and now just has the summer to finish up her acting program with The Old Globe Theater in Balboa Park.

She’ll always be the person I look to whenever I need to feel brave, social, or just plain friendly. ❤ I’m so glad my mother was able to go visit her to see her thesis!

Anyway, sorry this post is late but you’ll see why shortly. Heart

IMG_0896

Yesterday morning started with a delicious bowl of Weetabix + NatureBox Berry Granola. Then I was off to school for only an hour and 20 minutes. Yep, this was a good week. I love when classes are cancelled!

IMG_0897

When I got home it was only around 10am..but my breakfast somehow failed me. I was hungry. So I picked at some chips and salsa while I tried to do a little homework. Soo tasty.

IMG_0898

When actual lunchtime came around I really tried to prepare a healthy and scrumptious meal. I roasted Brussels sprouts and poached an egg and put them all on top of a bed of red leaf lettuce with a drizzle of Alfredo sauce. Oh boy did this NOT work. I ate the egg and tried to force myself to eat as much of the veggies as I could but…I dumped most of it in the garbage. =/ It was G.R.O.S.S.

I did eat my perfectly ripe pear though.

IMG_0899

And then since I knew that wasn’t going to hold me over, ate the last two homemade oatmeal raisin cookies with some milk. Then I was off to the food bank for some shelf stocking. I’m really enjoying this experience. I get to see a whole side of food distribution I’ve never seen before plus my boss came up and told me they could really use my help on doing some sort of nutrition education program!

I only stayed an hour and a half though because Chase and I had a night planned.

IMG_0921

First stop: the EMP Museum in Seattle! We’ve gone once before so we knew it was worth it when we signed up for their yearly membership program. Now we can go whenever there’s an exhibit we want to see! =D Yesterday, there were two exhibits we wanted to check out…

IMG_0902 

First off, the Icons of Science Fiction exhibit!

IMG_0904

Mainly because I wanted to see this Dalek from Doctor Who. Any other Doctor Who fans out there?

IMG_0907

Of course, there were a lot of other cool artifacts. Superman’s outfit.

IMG_0908

Yoda’s pendant and cane!

IMG_0910

And even Captain Kirk’s chair. ^_^

IMG_0913

The main exhibit we were there for though was: The Art of Video Games! They had all the super old to new consoles set up around the room and examples of the games that changed the video gaming industry. It was really cool to see the progression in technology.

IMG_0914

And of course I felt a bit proud with the World of Warcraft objects on display. ^_^ My cousin, Derek’s, first big game!

IMG_0917

There was also a few of the games available for play! Overall, it was pretty neat.

IMG_0919 

We were lucky enough to be there for one of their extended hours events, this one for a Mario Kart Tournament! It was very fun to watch people race on their 70-foot Sky Church screen. I tried to convince Chase to join the tournament and win us money. ~.^ We didn’t stay for the whole thing though because we had even more plans.

IMG_0922

One of which was to hit up our favorite Vietnamese place, Green Leaf. Last time we were here Chase got a dish that had the worst smelling sauce ever. It smelled of….dirty mop water and bleach. But then he was told to dump it on his dish and mix it up….and this dish was one of the best things he’s ever eaten! SO, I knew I had to try it.

I can’t really find any info on the sauce…but yes, it smelled the same; awful. And yes, it was freaking amazing when I dumped it on my salad of vermicelli noodles, lettuce, mint, basil, cucumber, bean sprout, carrot, jicama, green onions, mushrooms, imitation ham, and fried and grilled tofu. In fact, I really tried to eat the whole thing it was that amazing. As I told Chase, I didn’t want to take leftovers home and chance the sauce suddenly reverting to it’s original state of funk.

I left absolutely stuffed…but it was worth it.

IMG_0923

Next up on our adventure: Gameworks for their unlimited play night. You know, I’m not normally huge on arcades and get bored fast, but with it being just Chase and I it was a blast! We did a lot of racing games, including one particularly fun Hummer off-roading one where you actually wanted to run into things to get points. >.> Yes totally my game. I am a terrible driver and crash into everything.

The best thing about the games we played is that they were all cooperative. We had to work together instead of going versus. =) My kind of games.

IMG_0924

Sadly, the Vietnamese food didn’t love me as much as I loved it. I had really sharp and intense stomach pains and bloating half way through our gaming. I’m guessing it was due to the raw bean sprouts and lettuce. Those two produce are extremely prone to be contaminated with some sort of bacteria and my body is really awful at combating them.

To try and ease the pain I ate a snack of NatureBox cheddar sticks while we played. It did help a tiny bit but I was still in a lot of pain.

Anyway we didn’t go to bed until after 2am last night and therefore didn’t get up till very late. I feel so behind!! Still, I had a great time yesterday. =)

2 thoughts on “Video Gaming

  1. What’s up party animal’s! How fun 🙂 Sounds like you guys had a wonderful date night, that museum looks awesome.
    Whit looks absolutely beautiful, I love her hair super cute,how exciting, Go Whitney!!!

Leave a Reply

