Snorkeling Day

You will not believe what I did today. I went snorkeling. IN THE OCEAN! This is a big deal for me. I grew up watching Jaws and having a phobia of being in large bodies of water because of it. Seriously, I would get panic attacks in a lake. Never in my life did I think I’d ever actually go in to the ocean.

It was an amazing experience. At first going in and trying to breath through the snorkel freaked me out a bit. But once I got the hang of it it was so fun! I love floating with the waves, staring at the sea bed looking for wildlife.

We ended up only seeing one tiny leopard shark but, honestly, that was enough shark for me. We also saw some rays and other fish which were super cool! We swam for about an hour and a half and then we realized how freaking cold we were!! We got out to lay in the sun for a bit to warm up but our wet suits kept us pretty cold still. I couldn’t stop shaking and my hands were blue so we decided to call it a day.

Anyways I sadly do not have any photos of Win and I’s snorkeling adventure in La Jolla. We bought an underwater camera but since it’s a disposable we’re going to have to take it in to be developed! I promise to share them with you all as soon as I have them though.

UPDATE: Photos!!!

28960004 

28960003 
It was seriously like being in another world down there.
 
28960012
I was most amazed by how everything is always moving. The ebb and flow of the waves not only moves you, but the fish, the plants, absolutely everything is dancing with the waves.
 
28960007 
Our tour guide swam down to the bottom and caught this guy with his bare hands! It was very impressive.
 
28960010
He also tried to help Win and I get a photo together. Clearly Win is trying to elbow me in the face here..=P
 
28960011 
I didn’t mind though. ^_^ It was way too much fun.
 
28960014
Seriously, I am aching to go back. If I lived down in San Diego I’d be at that beach every weekend.
 
28960015
❤ Snorkeling
Back to your usual post!
 

So instead of (hopefully) amazing underwater shots I give you photos of food! I had a big bowl of Coach’s oats for breakfast with a banana and peanut butter mixed in. Yay oatmeal! I’ve forgotten how much I love this stuff. Sorry Weetabix, but you’re gonna have to share me.

After swimming all over and trying to bring our body temperatures back up to normal, we were famished and ready to be warm and eat good food. So Win drove me to her all time favorite fish taco place, The Beach House at Cardiff by the Sea, and there we each had one and split a delicious salad with goat cheese, tomatoes, fennel, and a pomegranate balsamic vinaigrette. We also toasted our facing our ocean phobia fears with crisp glasses of Riesling while we overlooked the sea. We even saw dolphins far out!

In the evening, we headed to Coronado for the wine and cheese tasting we picked up through Groupon at WineStyles. Is this beach not amazing? We arrived early so we walked around and took in the beautiful sights.

The actual tasting was only so so. They provided little wedges of three different cheese with crackers. (I gave my salami to Win.)

They told us that two cheese went with the whites and one went with the reds. We then got small pours of each of the seven wines, one after the other. It was pretty neat to taste the difference between the wines but I wish they’d given a little bit more guidance.
We did end up buying a bottle of the Prode Cavaliere Moscato for another night. ^_^ Yes I do love my sweet wines.

When we were through we walked the streets of Coronado until we found a delicious Italian place, Island Pasta. There I got Wild Mushroom Ravioli that was just soo scrumptious I ate the whole damn thing. =P

What an amazing day! I can’t believe I swam in the ocean!!

5 thoughts on “Snorkeling Day

  1. Pingback: Last Day | Blueberries and Oats

  2. Pingback: Reading | Blueberries and Oats

  3. Hey I am so happy I found your website, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for
    a fantastic post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read through it all at
    the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    a great deal more, Please do keep up the great b.

  4. Pingback: A Pineapple | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

