Cabbage

Ah my neck did so much better today! It’s crazy how much your life can be interrupted when you’re in pain and unable to function like normal. Really makes you appreciate your body.

IMG_0621

I woke up at 8am this morning refreshed and ready for my weekend! I started it with a simple bowl of Weetabix, blueberries, and toasted walnuts then got straight to work on a paper. I thought about trying to make it green for St. Patty’s but that was just too much work so I threw in a green spoon. ~.^

Not soon after finishing I hit the gym for a sweaty 60 minute hill stationary bike ride. I decided not to do strength training today since my trapezius is still sore.

IMG_0623

By noon I was oh so ready for lunch. I cut up a salmon burger and enjoyed it on a bed of baby spinach, topped with avocado, red onion, craisins, balsamic glaze, and a drizzle of EVOO. It was so fresh and enjoyable. Plus it used up all my spinach! I’m trying to clean out the fridge before I had to San Diego in less than a week!

IMG_0624

My afternoon snack consisted of a Chobani 0% Pear Greek yogurt mixed with a spoonful of crunchy peanut butter and 1/2 cup Quaker Oatmeal Squares. Nom nom. Nothing about this did I not love. ^.~

IMG_0625

Since it is Saint Patrick’s Day I made myself some good old “corned beef” and cabbage for dinner! And by that I mean I put cabbage, red potatoes, and carrots into my slow cooker with a plethora of different spices. Surprisingly, it tasted just like I remembered! I had it with some thawed honey lentils. Yes I now it doesn’t look that appetizing…I actually ended up being a little over zealous with the cabbage too so I put half of it back for another day.

IMG_0626

With all the studying I’ve been doing (biochem is going to kill me!) I couldn’t turn down a little evening munching tonight. I measured out one serving of my favorite trail mix and really tried to eat it mindfully. I also had a mug of herbal blueberry tea and, eventually, a lollipop. Studying just makes me so snacky. =/ I’m going to work on keeping them healthy snacks this week at least.

Anywho, I hope you all had a wonderful St. Patty’s day! Anyone eat anything oddly green?

Leave a Reply

