A Good Day To…

30-Day Spring Break-Ready Challenge Day 1: Success!

Just gonna keep track of me sticking to my challenge since I don’t know if I’ve stuck to it until after I’ve posted and gone to bed. That said, last night I went to bed feeling good and woke up feeling even better! Before I know it I’ll be waking up hungry again. Such a great feeling, in my opinion.

20130223-NEW 001

I practiced mindful eating this morning while I enjoyed my strawberry overnight oats topped with a spoonful of sunflower seed butter and craisins. I really paid attention to the texture: the burst of the chia seeds, the chew of the dried fruit, and the creaminess of the oats. To be honest though, I was pretty bored! I kept finding my eyes wandering to things on my desk or wall so I’d have something to read and I had to actively remind myself to pay attention to the food. Hopefully it only gets easier.

This morning I delivered trays at the hospital and then booked it 2 miles to work. I arrived early and slipped into Starbucks.

Blog UPLOAD47

I ended up having two drinks today! One, doppio ristretto espresso with 2” hot water, one raw sugar, and half and half (along with a free sample of a chocolate cookie, hey I only grabbed one sample instead of the two that were offered!) and the other was a free iced tall soy chai latte. We had the doctor who owns the practice today so she nicely bought us drinks. ^_^ It’s a good thing too because we were soo busy this morning I didn’t crack into my lunch until 1pm because I was so shaky I couldn’t stand it.

20130223-20130223_125213

I quickly, but thoughtfully, ate my Triple Grain Waldorf Salad on top of romaine lettuce and then for about another hour grazed upon my grapefruit and peanuts with white chocolate chunks. We were just too busy for me to finish my lunch in one sitting!

20130223-NEW 002..

I ended up walking to two grocery stores after work (and giving my feet blisters) in order to prepare this ravioli and vegetable soup. I ended up using yellow squash instead of zucchini and TJ’s goat cheese and sun dried tomato ravioli. It turned out delicious! I topped a bowl with fresh parsley and shredded parmesan. I love when I manage to make a good soup! For some reason I struggle with this…

After dinner Chase and I went and used one of the Valentine’s Day gifts I got him: tickets to see the new Die Hard movie, A Good Day to Die Hard. While we watched I did end up eating one chocolate and one lollipop, but I completely took my time and savored each bite/lick. It definitely wasn’t mindless and I turned down frozen yogurt after the movie so I’d call it a successful night.

P.s. the movie was okay. Definitely not as good as Live Free or Die Hard.

20130223-NEW 003

When we got home around 9:30pm I made myself a cup of my new tea! I tried Celestial Seasonings True Blueberry Herbal tea tonight and I loved it!! It also felt great on my throat, which has been a little sore all day. Hopefully nothing comes of that…

Have a great night!

3 thoughts on “A Good Day To…

  1. Good job!! You were totally successful! I went to a girls night last night, and had so much fun, I tried to be mindful in the sense that I wasn’t just there for the food but for the association. Yes I still ate cake, and pie, sipped a little red, and had a 1/2 glass of champagne but all in all I would say I was successful because I stopped when I was content, and didn’t hang out next to all the food like I normally would have!

Leave a Reply

