Relief

Today was very…relieving.

20130213-NEW 001

I was up early and eating my breakfast of strawberry overnight oats topped with a spoonful of cookie butter (holy yum with strawberry), golden raisins, and a pinch of toasted almonds. Loved the crunch!

At school I skipped out of my Writing about Food & Health class (after turning in two papers) to go do my A&P lab practical. We (meaning my lab section) had a special time set up to do it so we wouldn’t have it on the same day as our biochem exam (tomorrow). The practical went well, I think. It was clear and concise. I just wish I’d studied the nerves better! I’m so glad I decided to take it early so I can just concentrate on one set of notes tonight. What a relief!

20130213-20130213_104654

During my two hour break before lunch I studied, you guessed it, biochemistry. This exam will be over the fasting state (and therefore the mechanism of glucagon), the tricarboxylic acid cycle, and oxidative phosphorylation (for all you science geeks out there!). While I studied, I got extremely hungry so I grabbed my organic Granny Smith apple I’d had in my lunch and munched away.

20130213-20130213_115616

When lunchtime finally arrived I was more than ready for some hot cafeteria food. It was probably my favorite thing I’ve eaten there yet! I had a roasted red pepper and cheese tamale, Mexican rice, and roasted veggies along with a side salad I brought from home. Oh my! I haven’t had many tamales in my life since they are normally filled with meat, so I can honestly say this was the best one I’ve ever had! I seriously wanted to buy more to eat for different meals but at $3 a piece I passed.

Blog UPLOAD40

I had my ride drop me off at Starbucks on the way home today because I was in the mood from some espresso! I got a tall nonfat Vanilla Spice Latte with no whip and sipped half of it while I ate a slice of homemade quinoa bread with cookie butter. (I drank the other half after dinner. P.s. I won’t get this flavor again!)

After a bit of studying and getting pepped up on caffeine and carbs, I hit the gym for a 30 minute interval treadmill workout at 2.0 incline. It was great! It’s funny how much I dread my treadmill runs but I love them so much when they’re over. It really makes me work my body in half the time as biking!

Blog UPLOAD41

I finally finished off that vegetarian chili I made two weeks ago for dinner! There was only a little bit left so I topped it with black olives and avocado, and enjoyed it with a slice of quinoa bread toasted with Dubliner cheddar cheese on it. Still, this wasn’t enough food so I also had another mini sleeve of Saltines with more cheese. I feel like a lot of my after dinner snacking may be due to not providing enough filling foods in my meal so I’m really trying to work on that.

Well, just one more exam and then it’s the weekend! Gnight! Oh and I hope everyone has a happy Valentine’s Day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

