Dessersday

T.G.I.D! Thank gods it’s Dessersday! Yes that’s right, Dessert Thursday is now officially called Dessersday. It makes saying no to the delectable desserts my cafeteria produces throughout the week doable, because I know I get to have one on Dessersday. ^_^ Yes it’s pretty much like a “Cookie Friday”. I highly recommend it.

20130207-NEW 003

However, Dessersday still starts off like any other day. I got to sleep in until 8am since I was driving myself to school today (Danae had an appt). I was glad I got this extra sleep because, while I didn’t mention it, last night I was sneezing all evening long and had a stuffy nose. Today I’ve had kind of that sick head-cold feeling and a flushed look. =/ I think I’m coming down with something.

Anyway I had another bowl of Weetabix, this time enjoyed with a 1/4 cup of a homemade granola one of Chase’s coworkers gifted him with, fresh blueberries, and ground flax. The homemade granola was hardly sweetened so while it didn’t had add any flavor it was a nice texture component! I took my time with this bowl while I studied for my A&P lab quiz and Vincent kept head-butting me to hurry up so he could lick it. >.< I know, he’s spoiled.

20130207-20130207_121435

When lunch time came around, we had a big surprise in our cafeteria! Since Chinese New Year is this Sunday, February 10th, my school invited a Chinese dance group to do a New Year’s performance! There were two dragons, each two persons long, that danced to drum music. It was pretty interesting! According to Wikipedia:

“Dragon and lion dances are common during Chinese New Year. It is believed that the loud beats of the drum and the deafening sounds of the cymbals together with the face of the dragon or lion dancing aggressively can evict bad or evil spirits.”

20130207-20130207_121539

While they danced, I ate my vegetarian chili, massaged kale salad with toasted almonds and golden raisins, and a cheese stick.

20130207-20130207_123342

For Dessersday, I had a delectable lemon parfait! Holy yum. If you’re a long time reader, you know I love all things lemon, well this did not disappoint! Lemon custard on top of a very crumbly yellow cookie/cake. My only wish is that there was a greater lemon to cake ratio. Still, totally worth the wait.

As you can see, we were also gifted the traditional Chinese New Year red envelopes filled with a coupon for 20% off at the Bookstore! We all decided we really want to get Bastyr U sweatshirts. ~.^

20130207-NEW 002-2

I drove home around 3:30pm and on my way I stopped at a QFC to return our Red Box movie (which is a Bellevue-based company! Who knew!?) and grabbed a ristretto doppio espresso with one raw sugar, 2” hot water and some half and half. I was soo worn out I needed this boost to get me through the day.

Once home I felt just how sick I was getting. My temperature picked up and my overall stuffiness commenced. My sister, Win, helped me edit my blueberry paper (still working on a conclusion…I hate conclusions), and then Chase and I spent 2 hours outside in the frigid cold fixing the door handle Chase broke off! Yeah, it snapped when it was soo cold here in December. Whoops. It was a pain to fix, but we did it!

20130207-NEW 003-2

Once we got back in where it’s warm, it was after 7pm. We both decided something hot, hearty, and easy was what we needed for dinner so we threw in a Dijorno Spinach & Mushroom pizza. I ate three slices with a red cabbage Caesar salad and a amaretto sour. Probably not the best thing to drink when I’m coming down with something…

I’ve cancelled my tray delivery tomorrow morning just in case I’m sick so at least I’ll get plenty of rest. Have a good Friday everyone!

3 thoughts on “Dessersday

Leave a Reply

