Getting Back To It

I feel so much better about today than yesterday. I appreciate all of your comforting comments though and agree, maybe I’m being a bit hard on myself.

20130128-NEW 001

Today I woke up hungry and knew exactly what I wanted to break my fast with: Kodiak Cakes topped with Cookie Butter and craisins plus a mug of milk. Super chewy and flavorful. It felt like eating cake without the over the top sugariness.

After doing some Anatomy & Physiology studying, I hit the gym for a 60 minute hill stationary bike ride. I did a whole bunch of abs and arm work last night while I was watching TV so I was too sore for strength training today.

20130128-NEW 002

Lunch was around 2pm and it was utterly delectable. I made a big massaged kale salad (kale massaged with an oily dressing that makes the kale a lot more tender plus exploding with flavor) topped with golden raisins and toasted almonds and made two little mini sandwiches on the side: one grilled monetary jack cheese and the other sunflower seed butter with raspberry jam. They were actually the perfect-sized sandwiches for me since I tend to get bored of a sandwich quickly.

20130128-NEW 003

The rest of the day was spent with Ophie, working on the first draft of my food education piece on the benefits of eating blueberries. It was very rough to write since I am not quiet comfortable with spouting scientific research off in my own words yet. I promise to share it with you all when it is finally done with. Two more drafts to go! Eventually I needed a little afternoon fuel so I grabbed a baggie of NatureBox Lone Star Snack Mix. Love this mesquite mix of nuts.

Before 5pm I was out in the rain rushing to the post office (to send Win a package) and Trader Joe’s (to pick up some things for tomorrow night’s dinner) before my hospital volunteer work. Tonight It didn’t go that well since there is now another volunteer and even less to do. I ended up going home 10 minutes before my hour was up because I just didn’t have more things to waste my time on. Oh well.

20130128-NEW 005

For dinner I reheated the last of the whole wheat spaghetti and mixed in some ribbons of sautéed purple cabbage and kale. I used a little amount of Alfredo sauce and a pinch of parmesan cheese to really give it some full-bodied flavor. It was exactly what this girl was craving. Hearty, warm, and filling.

20130128-NEW 006

I’ve surprised myself by doing really well after dinner tonight. I made myself a mug of hot cocoa and had an unpictured piece of Theo dark chocolate nutcracker brittle. Just one piece. ~.^

Well I’ve got to get back to studying for an A&P quiz tomorrow! Here’s to a better week than last!

P.s. I kind of want to do a food challenge for February but I don’t have any ideas. Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Getting Back To It

  1. Your meals look absolutely delicious! I would be up for a February food challenge as well, but I’m stuck on ideas. I’ll have to think on that one!

Leave a Reply

