Sidelined

I had the opposite of restful sleep last night. I awoke feeling like I hadn’t slept a wink. _

20130126-001

Even tired I needed food though, so for breakfast I threw together a bowl of popped amaranth with ground flax, NatureBox Wild Berry Bunch, chopped pecans, and 1/2 a banana. After eating the bowl I ate the other half of my banana. I just love them too much.

It was a cold and dreary day today so I took the bus to work.

20130126-20130126_120259

I had the exact same lunch as yesterday: creamy sesame red chard, semi-caramelized leeks, and Jamaican jerk roasted red potatoes, carrots, and turnips. To be honest, today I hated it. I barely ate half the box before I couldn’t stomach another bite. It’s the chard that was off to me. Apparently I’m not a big fan of tahini.

I also ate a Monterey cheese stick and coffee and chocolate chip Chobani Bite.

20130126-20130126_133952

Due to the small lunch, about an hour later I had a crisp and sweet pear. However, it took all my strength not to dive into the chocolate drawer. I just felt so darn worn out that sugar was all I craved.

20130126-002

When I got home around 4:30pm I immediately had a snack of a banana with chocolate cherry almond butter. The last of it, as you can see. What happened to all of it? Well Chase decided I made the most amazing nut butter in the world and that the perfect way to eat it was dipping pretzels in it! He went to town. I’m a little bummed it’s all gone but I feel like the more he is willing to try the various foods I make the sooner he’ll like them! First it’s almond butter, then it’s kale and quinoa!

I couldn’t honestly fathom working out today. I just wanted to get in my PJ’s, eat chocolate, and burrow under the covers. Instead I made a compromise. No I didn’t workout, but instead I got in my PJ’s and cleaned the apartment! Dishes, kitchen counters, sweeping, vacuuming. It felt so good to clean up this pigsty! I’m just so busy during the week things just pile up.

20130126-004

When Chase got home from work we had a very rare night of cooking together in the kitchen! We had whole wheat spaghetti topped with roasted red bell pepper and cremini mushrooms, sautéed kale (ok none for him…yet!), doctored up Alfredo sauce, and shaved parmesan. It was the best meal we’ve ever put together. Everything complimented everything.

20130126-005

For dessert I had a very very thin piece of my homemade spelt bread slathered with Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter from Trader Joe’s. It’s been awhile since I had cookie butter but oh my it’s as good as I remembered it. Too bad it’s got such junk in it. >.<

Anyway I feel like I’ve been sidelined by my own body. I’m just so worn out. I just hope tomorrow I feel ready to get back to the gym.

On a different note, I’ve been thinking about paying for some blog upgrades and wanted some reader opinions.

1. Do you notice the ads at the bottom of my posts? Do they annoy you?

2. Do you prefer www.blueberriesandoats.wordpress.com or www.blueberriesandoats.com ? Do you care?

3. Are there any other features you’d want to see/not see?

Thanks for your time!

3 thoughts on “Sidelined

  1. Hi there! I rarely comment but I thought I’d drop a line or two today so I could give you some feedback on your questions! First of all, I need to have some popped amaranth soon. It’s been too long and your breakfasts are making me jealous. I have never seen an ad on your blog. As for the url, I don’t think it matters whether you have the wordpress in there or not. Either way, it gets you to the same page! Have a great night!

  2. I agree with Andrea I have never seen an add….
    I’m not sure about all this blog stuff or the details behind it but I sure do enjoy yours:) take care Robyn, and get some rest!!

Leave a Reply

