Shopping Distraction

Chase and I spent today trying to distract ourselves from the fact that we would not be seeing our families for Xmas. =( And what’s one of the biggest distractions there is? Well shopping at a mall of course! But let’s start at the beginning…

20121220-NOW 001

The babies sweetly let me sleep in until 8:30am before they decided that they were clearly starving to death. I didn’t mind though. I haven’t been sleeping very well the past few days so my body is getting used to being this tired. After feeding them, I laid in bed staring at the ceiling and trying not to be depressed.

I understand why this season is considered the loneliest time of year if you aren’t able to or have no family to go home to. In fact, funny enough I now finally understand why Kevin in the Home Alone movies always wishes for his family to come back to him for Christmas. I always thought that was kind of childish, but now it really hits home. Family just makes it Christmas.

Eventually, my stomach was growling enough that I got out of bed and searched the fridge for food. We weren’t planning on being here, so it’s pretty darn bare. I had a most unusual breakfast of egg whites mixed with a kale, onion, and mushroom curry plus an orange. I think I’m going to force myself to try more savory breakfasts for awhile. It’s nice to mix it up.

When Chase got up and broke the news to his mom (I felt so bad, she cried.), we decided to get our day going. We bathed Vincent (he smelled), and then headed out the door to get presents in the mail and then drove to Southcenter mall in Tukwila. We arrived right at lunch time and we were hungry! The food court was so…not our thing so we went to the first sit-down restaurant we found: Racha Thai & Asian Kitchen.

20121220-20121220_124917

We then had the worst Thai food of our lives. Seriously. I got the Pad See Ew (like I always get at Thai restaurants) and it had absolutely no flavor. Not to mention, the tofu was barely cooked and cold in the middle. I was so hungry I ate about half but I didn’t bother to take home leftovers. What a disappointment!

Next up we shopped the mall for 6 whole hours. It was so huge! It really did help distract us though. In fact, Chase even bought me a Hello Kitty balloon that walks behind you (gosh it’s hard to explain) but it popped not 10 minutes after getting it. >.< So alas, no picture. It looked like this:

It made me smile and gave us a lot of laughs for the short time that it lived.

20121220-20121220_154323

Eventually, we took a small break when our stamina was crashing for a short ristretto nonfat eggnog latte. By the time we were done shopping…I’d pretty much spent my refunded bus ticket. ^_^ Yeah, it was good retail therapy.

20121220-NOW 002

When we finally got home, we ordered pizza for a night in, relaxing. However, with a wait time of 50 minutes, I dug into dessert early. Jaycee had sent me off last night with this amazing package of all her homemade treats! I ate way too many of them yesterday…and too many today. >.< At first I really liked that they were so small…but now I see the flaw. You just keep going back for more!

I also poured myself a glass of this Naked Grape pino grigo.

20121220-NOW 003

Then I got a Skype call from my family!! We’d originally planned a family dinner for tonight (with me there..) so they went ahead and had it for me! I loved seeing them, laughing, and chatting. ❤ It made me feel a little bit better.

20121220-NOW 004

Next up: pizza from Pagliacci, a local gourmet pizza place that we’ve been recommended over and over again. When I saw their seasonal offering featured Washington pears, tangy gorgonzola, mozzarella, fontina, mushrooms, red onions and walnuts on olive oil, I knew that was the pie for me.

I had two slices with a Caesar salad I threw together. The verdict: Not better than The Bridge but still pretty darn good! Chase and I both agreed that our favorite Washington pizza place though is The Rock.

Xmas

I’m still not feeling very festive since I was counting on the white Christmas of Montana to really make it happen. So here’s a little bit of festiveness for us all. Yep, that’s me. Happy Holidays.

Leave a Reply

