Meatballs and Beans

Hm..I’m not sure how I feel about today. I got a lot of my to do list done…I worked out…but my eating was really off…and I think I may be coming down with something. Stare-Left

20121217-NOW 001

This morning I was freezing so instead of eating yogurt I made a hot batch of Kodiak Cakes with pumpkin mixed in. It made them so much more moist! I enjoyed the pumpkiny flavor, the interesting texture, and the amazing natural color. ^_^ I topped them with a drizzle of maple syrup, sunflower seed butter, and craisins. Washed down with a glass of 2%. It was a really great breakfast!

20121217-NOW 005

Next Vinni and I worked on the to do list.

  1. Clean Boo-Boo’s cage
  2. Write up Hypnotic Nutrition post!
  3. Call my orthodontist in Montana (I noticed last night that my retainer is cracked!! This is a big deal because I don’t have dental insurance anymore…=/)
  4. Wash pantyhose and swimsuits (Can I just say that all the cold hand wash things are annoying!?)

20121217-NOW 008

By the time I was done it was pretty far past lunchtime but I couldn’t figure out what I wanted. So I ate one thing I knew I did want: NatureBox Masa Crisps! Finished them off…they are so good.

20121217-NOW 009

A bit later I realized I had to eat some more hearty food. Like I’ve mentioned, our fridge is super bare and I am still trying to finish off leftovers before we leave on vacation. So today I boiled some whole wheat pasta and frozen green beans and tossed them with leftover alfredo sauce.

After lunch, I sat around for awhile because my head felt soo congested and I couldn’t stop sneezing. =( Finally, I convinced myself working out might help so I hit the gym for a 60 minute hill stationary bike ride. I started a new book, Delirium, which I am kind of excited about! I’m apparently really into teen literature that has to do with futuristic societies. This one has to do with “love” being considered a disease and the government developing a cure for it. Sounds interesting right?

20121217-NOW 010

Anyway once I was done and showered I had an extreme craving for protein. Yeah, my lunch did lack it. So I had a blueberry Chobani with almond butter and toasted almonds. I felt a little better afterwards, in fact, good enough that I followed my exercise with more exercise.

I walked in the chilly air to the library to pick up a book I’d put on hold. (Tell ya about it when I read it.) On the way back I realized that once the sun goes down (which it had descended extremely fast) the temperature here lowers very quickly! Seriously, on the walk there I was a bit sweaty, on the way back I was frigid and so glad I had a down coat on. By the time I got back to my apartment I had chills, runny nose, clammy face, congested head, and an overall sick feeling. =( I huddled in my down coat in front of the heater until Chase got home.

20121217-NOW 011

He surprised me with his awesomely tied tie! I’d sent him a challenge on Facebook earlier today since he’s pretty much a tie tying master, and he managed to replicate it! It’s pretty cool looking right?

In my sick rut, all I felt like eating was one thing: protein. I craved beans and even meatless products. We had none in the house though…I I bundled up in my hat, gloves, and down jacket and drove to Trader Joe’s!

20121217-NOW 014

Then I had exactly what my body wanted: TJ’s baked beans, Meatless Meatballs, and green beans. I can only say it tasted like heaven.

Anyway, I just had a cup of Twinnings Lady Grey tea and it’s helping my head a bit. Hopefully I’ll wake up all cured because I do not want to be on a Greyhound bus for 18 hours feelings sick!!!

Leave a Reply

