Hypnotic Nutrition

Well I think it’s about time I told you all about the wonderful opportunity I found for clinical hours with an excellent nutritionist named Carole Freeman and her clinic, Hypnotic Nutrition.

I tracked Carole down by doing a lot of research on professionals who deal with people from a nutritional standpoint on weight loss and, particularly, ones who attended Bastyr University!

Carole actually did not do the DPD program (to become an R.D) like I am, but went another route that I was also considering. She did the graduate program at Bastyr for Clinical Psychology and Nutrition. This program really calls to me because it not only deals with the nutritional parts of weight loss but the psychological ones as well, which is exactly what I’m interested in!

Anyways, let me tell you about Carole’s clinic.

First off she offers private sessions which include a lifestyle and nutrition assessment, goal setting, custom nutrition and supplement protocols and hypnotherapy. What is “hypnotherapy”? I had to look it up myself! It’s therapy while undergoing hypnosis. Hypnosis is pretty much just a relaxed, meditative state, in which you’re supposedly hyper-suggestible. May sound a bit scary, but I’ve watched Carole do it to many different clients and they all seem to get so much out of it.

I haven’t been to a private session yet (though we are planning for me to sit on new patients to come!) and instead have been assisting Carole with her Hypnotic Power Program! It’s an 8 week long program in which patients gets a 30 minute private session each week followed by a 1 hour group session. The goal is to achieve natural weight loss, of course, without feeling deprived. Within this program Carole teaches the secret to naturally eating less, without having to count points/calories/nothing! This is why this program appealed to me so much. You all know how I feel about unhealthy obsessions with counting when it comes to weight loss.

The 8 week program includes custom nutrient protocols (she’s big on supplements!) to remove cravings, a workbook, and even hypnosis recordings to listen to in between sessions. I feel like this is the kind of program I was looking for after finishing Weight Watchers and needing to let go of counting and just eat naturally. It gives me so much joy that there are actually programs like this out there!

20121102-20121102_174922

I started assisting during the middle of this 8 week program, so while I can’t vouch for the beginning of it, I certainly enjoyed the end. We learned about using self-hypnosis to support weight-loss and create a solution for a particular trigger, intuitive eating (my favorite), and even went over healthy habits such as how to stock your fridge and what kind of snacks to keep on your person. It felt like Weight Watcher’s without the guilt and obsession of points; Just a group of people talking about their food issues and getting great advice on how to deal with them.

Now I know a lot of my readers have the same issues I went through after losing weight and then not knowing how to live normally again, so I asked Carole how you all could find a program like hers. She told me she can actually do phone sessions and she is working on getting this 8 week program up and running online! If you are interested let me know and I’ll pass on the message.

Anyway I’m so happy Carole has let me be apart of this. You all know one of my favorite things to do is help people with weight loss issues and help them lead healthier lives. Seeing that you can make a career of this has been very motivating!

Well now you know what I’ve been up to on my Friday nights! Please feel free to post any questions you have here.

Leave a Reply

