One Loonnnggg Saturday

I woke up this morning more tired than I’ve been in months! I seriously could hardly get out of bed. I snoozed my alarm (one thing I never do) and slept in instead of going to the gym. When I finally had to get up I had a headache and just felt awful.

20121117-NOW 001

I showered, dressed, scarfed down some overnight oats with roasted cinnamon apples, sunflower seed butter, and golden raisins, and was out the door on my 2 mile trek to work. Luckily, it was not raining! (It poured all last night.)

20121118-IMG_20121117_094057

One thing I knew for sure: it was going to be a coffee day. Now since I’ve sworn off Starbucks due to their changes in their rewards program and since I’m trying to be eat more local, I headed to a different coffee shop across the street, Urban Coffee Lounge. I set up a coffee card and ordered an 8 oz latte. I didn’t bother to specify the type of milk because I wanted to try their normal standard. Look how beautiful it was! I added one raw sugar and sipped it with joy. Delicious. I also love how they use local dairies that don’t use rBST growth hormones.

20121117-20121117_125316

Around 1pm I finally took a short break for lunch. Work was really busy today and I had to babysit (kind of) the boss’s teenage daughter and her friend on top of that, so I seriously had to scarf this down. Blended pumpkin leek soup, 1/2 demi baguette, a small local apple, and a mini 55% dark chocolate square. I love Fall.

This day of work left me more worn out than I’ve ever been at this job. Constantly monitoring two troubled teenagers while trying to assist a lot of busy customers and keep patients flowing in and out is tiring.

20121117-NOW 002

The moment I got into my apartment I quickly made two ants on a log: crunchy homemade peanut butter, celery, golden raisins. My gurgling stomach needed something to fuel my strength training workout I followed it with. I really took my time with it, concentrating hard on my form.  

20121117-NOW 004

When Chase got home, I reheated my vegetarian pho and enjoyed it with the other half of my demi baguette. I’m loving soups.

After dinner (and Bones – we’re finally catching up on missed episodes), I got straight to work on writing up a chemistry research paper on Monosodium Glutamate, MSG. It’s just on the chemistry of creating it so it’s probably not something I’ll share since it’s a bit boring. I’d love to do a project on MSG from a nutrition standpoint someday though and then I’ll share it!

20121117-NOW 006

After long hours of working on that paper, I cracked open my Kindle to get in some time with the extra credit book I’m reading for Whole Foods Production, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. While I read I dinned on one square of some new chocolate the Theo representative at PCC convinced me to buy: Salted Toffee Milk Chocolate! It was pretty good, but now I wish I’d bought a dark chocolate bar instead. I’m glad I got to talk with the Theo rep though. I didn’t even know Theo Chocolates was a Seattle company! I intend to go do their factory tour one of these days!

20121117-NOW 010-2

Still trying to get good pictures of Boo-Boo. Here she is loving some kale stalk!

Well I hope you all had a more relaxing Sunday than I. I’m looking forward to my day off tomorrow. G’night!

Leave a Reply

