Cleared

Today I woke up early to head to the hospital and get cleared for my volunteering! Good news folks: I don’t have tuberculosis and now have been vaccinated for: flu, diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, hepatitis B, and the chickenpox! Phew.

I also had an appointment with my doctor to talk about my blood test results. I told her how lost and confused I felt since I was already doing all the things they recommend to the average Joe who has high triglyceride levels. She assured me that there was no need to change anything. That, genetically, people can just have high levels and that I had nothing to worry about. We’ll check it again next year and if it goes up then we can consider putting me on medications. PHEW. I feel so much better. I don’t need to cut out fruit!

20121116-NOW 003

After my hospital adventures, I walked back in the door to find Chase awake and willing to eat a hot breakfast of oatmeal with me! I topped mine with some roasted apples I made last night with a touch of lemon juice, a little brown sugar, and cinnamon, almond butter, and toasted almonds. It was delicious. I’ve got the feeling that it’s that oatmeal time of year again.

After breakfast, I hit the gym for a 60 minute hill stationary bike ride though I had really wanted to do another run since my butt was kicked by the treadmill yesterday. Unfortunately, I got all set up to run only to find my iPod was dead!!! –_- Darn it. So instead I grabbed my book and biked.

20121116-NOW 004

At noon my stomach was growling for lunch. I heated up some brown rice and the last of the baked beans with collard greens. For more veggies, I had some leftover peanut red cabbage slaw from yesterday’s Whole Foods lab. Mmm mm. I’m soo excited to try out more beans. I had no problems with these.

Afterwards, Chase and I went to get info on some apartments since we may move when our lease is up in January. I kind of really like our location so I’m torn on if we should or not. Sure we could save some money but I’m just so close to the bus stop, my work, Trader Joe’s, and the hospital. We shall just have to see…

20121116-NOW 005

When we got back my tummy was growling a bit so I made a snack plate of celery, peanut butter, and golden raisins for some ants on a log. I spent the next few hours getting some homework done.

20121116-NOW 006

Before heading out to do 2.5 hours of volunteer work at a local clinic I found that my stomach was empty yet again!! Arg. We had dinner plans tonight so I knew I wouldn’t be eating until late so I’d better have another snack before I left. I decided to finish off the last of my herbed goat cheese with some warm and toasty baguette. Delicious.

My volunteer work went really well and I do intend to write a post up to tell you about what I’m doing soon. However, it went a little overtime so Chase and I really had to race to get all the way to Renton for our dinner with Chase’s boss Waylon and his boyfriend Joey!

20121116-NOW 007

I’d chosen Papaya Vietnamese Café to eat at because I loved that they had a vegetarian Pho (which is surprisingly hard to find with a vegetable broth) and they had a low-carb option meaning they swap out the noodles (that I hate) with shredded zucchini and enoki mushrooms! Perfect! It was really delicious and I managed to eat probably half the bowl. Yay scrumptious and notorious leftovers!

Now we had plans to go see the new James Bond movie, Skyfall, after dinner but unfortunately it was all sold out. =( Instead we had a wild romp through Target, shopping, and finding all the Hello Kitty things. ^_^ It was a fun night.

20121117-NOW 010

For dessert I had this perfectly sized mini, fair trade organic dark chocolate I picked up at PCC earlier today. Pretty expensive but I love the automatic portion control. Also, super tasty!

Anyway it’s to bed with me!

3 thoughts on “Cleared

  1. No TB for you, awesome! Congratulations on not having to switch your diet up, your 1/4 cup blueberries for your oats was killing me 😉 Happy Saturday!

  2. Pingback: Money Problems | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

