Real Food!

That’s right! My stomach was A.O.K today to eat solid food again! Whoopie!

It started with me waking up early to get in a 30 minute treadmill interval run. And wow it was hard. I had to wimp down the intervals a bit because my heart just felt like it was beating soooo fast. I felt like my body was running on empty. xx I did not like it!

20121115-NOW 001

After showering, I chugged down this Strawberry Banana Odwalla smoothie I bought yesterday in case my stomach still wasn’t ready for solids. I planned on eating non-solid foods again today but…

Blog UPLOAD11

Once we got cooking in Whole Foods Production lab I knew I had to give the real food a try! This was probably the best food we’ve made all quarter. We had: Winter Squash Apple Soup (made by me!), French Lentils with Sage Butter Vinaigrette, and Peanut-Strewn Purple Cabbage Slaw. I just ate my small salad plate of lentils and salad with a few bites of the soup. I knew my stomach wasn’t ready to fit all of that in! I did have a 1.5 of the Gingerbread Molasses Cookies made with whole wheat and teff flour though! They were outstanding! I think this is going to be my new go-to Xmas cookie. Great fluffy texture.

Blog UPLOAD12

After an hour of getting in some extra credit reading,an hour of A&P tutorial, and an hour of just chatting and bitching about school work, my body was ready for more food. I tried to appease it with a little apple which one of Chase’s coworkers gifted him from his orchard but soon after my stomach was growling again so I ate my last cookie. I love that they are 100% whole grain and use less than 1 cup of sugar!

20121115-NOW 002

After my very last organic chemistry lab (where we made soap out of coconut oil!), I arrived home very hungry for dinner. I reheated my soup from lunch and also reheated some brown rice with baked beans and collard greens. Yeah I was that hungry!

20121115-NOW 003

Still trying to get more probiotics back into my system, I had dessert again of Greek yogurt, the very last of the lemon curd, and toasted almonds. I know I need to get out of this “dessert” mentality but I’ve been really missing my dairy! I’m going to work on getting back to having tea instead of dessert.

Yay for the weekend!

What cookies are you making for the holiday season this year?

2 thoughts on “Real Food!

Leave a Reply

