Day 1: Master Cleanse

Ok so that big change I’ve been hinting at was the fact that I am trying out a 10 day cleanse that my sister swears by.

No I’m not doing it to lose weight.

I’m doing it because with all the issues with my blood test results, I feel like I have no control over my body. That nothing I do matters. I feel like I need to do this to take back control in a sense. It will empower me. Plus I feel like yes, maybe I was eating too many sweets and simple carbs and I want to break those cravings! Getting the toxins out of my body may help.

Normally I scoff at cleanses. But I saw the results of how much it changed my sister’s life; Made her appreciate everything more. And I feel like I need that right now.

I’m sure some of you may read this and not agree with “cleansing”. I totally understand because normally I would 100% agree with you. But this is something I’m excited about doing, just to prove to myself that I am in control. Please, if you have something negative to say, don’t. This isn’t logical, this is spiritual.

That said I’d love to show you guys my journey. Document this cleanse and how I’m feeling. If you’d like to know more about it you can find the info here at The Master Cleanse.

So how did Day 1 go?

20121109-NOW 001

Well you have to start off your day with a “flush”. You know, flushing all those toxins out of your system. This was the worst thing ever. I won’t be doing it again and, luckily, you don’t have to do the cleanse as long as you take a night time laxative tea instead.

But this morning I gave it one shot. The Salt Water Flush (SWF) is a mixture of 2 tsp of non-iodized sea salt with 32 oz of warm water. You chug all of it down and then wait around for a bowel movement. Oh my gods it was like drinking blood. I struggled with my body’s natural gag reflex. I just wanted to try this once and never do it again.

Luckily, I got it all down, kept it down, and it did it’s duty. BLEH!

20121109-NOW 002

The cleanse consists of drinking 6-12 glasses of lemonade a day. The lemonade consists of:

  • 2 Tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp. Grade B maple syrup
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz filtered water

I actually was dreading tasting it since my bad experience of the SWF really turned me off.

20121109-NOW 003

Low and behold though, it tastes fine! I’ve drunken 5 today so far, 1 every 3 hours. I’ve been surprised by how easy today went. I was expecting to be really hungry or have cravings but I have been perfectly fine. It’s all about timing my lemonades so I never let myself get famished.

Other observations about today:

  • I’ve been tired. =/ It’s understandable. I’m told after about Day 3 my energy will really pick up. I don’t intend to do hard workouts during this though they say you can. I just don’t want to break down my muscle (what happens when you workout) without having the adequate energy to build it back up (recovery after workout).
  • I’ve been very cold! I think instead of cold water to sip between lemonades I’m gonna have to switch to hot. It’s just too cold here!
  • Since I don’t have to worry about food I’ve found myself with more time to get homework done surprisingly. I suppose a lot of my time is spent looking at recipes or planning meals. Without that aspect to worry about I have sooo much time!
  •  

    Anyway I have all the work I had planned to get done today, done, so I’m gonna go snuggle up with Princess Ophie and watch some TV. ❤

    6 thoughts on “Day 1: Master Cleanse

    Leave a Reply

    