King Tut

Ah sweet “Friday”. I love and dread this day because while it is my last school day of the week it also contains my least favorite class. However I managed to get through it and do something super fun. ^_^

20121108-NOW 001

Breakfast today was strawberry overnight oats made with ground flax instead of chia seeds and topped with almond butter, toasted almonds, and golden raisins. Creamy perfection.

20121108-20121108_103522

During my least favorite class, I got to make pancakes!! =D Made from whole kasha and steel cut oats soaked in milk and yogurt overnight and blended. Every one of my pancakes came out perfect. ^_^

20121108-20121108_105425

As you can see my lunch was sort of brunchy! Two buckwheat/oat pancakes topped with a rum winter fruit compote and a tiny bit of fresh whip cream. Plus a side of fluffy pastured eggs with rainbow chard and cheese. OH! And a glass of delicious homemade chai tea! It was a yummy brunch.

After class and a resume workshop, I rushed home to grab Chase so we could head to the Pacific Science Center!

20121108-NOW 003

I loved their interactive display on nutrition and food. ^_^ I would have played every game on it but I wanted to let the kids learn. ~.^

20121108-NOW 004

As we headed out of building one to building two..I almost died when I saw these scary sculptures in the pond between the buildings! AHHHHH!!!

So why were we at the Pacific Science Center? Well we had tickets to go view the Tutankhamun: The Golden King and the Great Pharaohs exhibit! “The exhibition features more than 100 objects from King Tut’s tomb and ancient sites representing some of the most important rulers throughout 2,000 years of ancient Egyptian history. With more than twice the number of artifacts than the original Tut exhibit that toured in the 1970s, many of these objects have never toured in the United States before this exhibit.” And Seattle is it’s last stop before it all goes back to Egypt! So we had to see it. Of course, there’s no photography in the exhibit so I don’t have anything to show for it.

travelhyper.com

But it was so cool to see artifacts that were that old! To see the craftsmanship they had even that long ago. My favorite part was all the gold and jeweled GIANT necklaces. Those brilliant people put a counter balance on the back of the necklace to help hold it up! Ha!

20121108-20121108_170126

After going through the entire exhibit reading every word, scrutinizing every artifact, and listening to Harrison Ford tell us stores of olden times (he narrated the audio guide), we headed to dinner since we were starving.

We found Green Leaf Vietnamese Restaurant just 0.2 miles away. Neither Chase or I have really given Vietnamese much thought before, so we decided to try something new! I went with a vegetarian Pho with tofu and veggies. Pho is a Vietnamese noodle soup and the broth is amazing! I drank the broth and tried to eat all the tofu and veggies. I knew I wouldn’t like the noodles (bleh Asian noodles!) so I left them alone. This hot bowl of goodness filled me up and made me feel good. I’d definitely get it again!

Once we got back home I hit the gym for a 60 minute hill stationary bike ride and finished my book! I’m so sad it’s over and can’t wait for the second one to be available at the library. >.<

20121108-NOW 005

Once my workout was over I was dying for a big mug of skim milk, some chocolate, and the rest of my Uberbar that I had picked at (sneakily) during the King Tut Exhibit.

I am pretty excited for tomorrow because I am doing something completely new. You all may be a little surprised…

Night!

Leave a Reply

