Cynthia Lair’s Feeding the Young Athlete

Alright so there was some interest on hearing more about the talk I attended last week on Cynthia Lair’s new book, Feeding the Young Athlete. While this talk was interesting and I loved listening to Cynthia, it didn’t strike a real cord with me since I am neither a parent, coach, or athlete. But I know some of you out there are so here is what I learned about this book! That said everything I’m putting here is Cynthia’s words, so if you are interested in them and want to learn more, go buy her book!

51U6rybg7sL._SS500_

Why write this book?

Cynthia, as a soccer mom, saw what crap parents and coaches were feeding their young athletes. Capri Sun, Gatorade, Fast Food, ect. As an R.D., she knew there was a niche that needed filling on helping these adults make wiser choices and help their teams win! Because when you just eat a donut and a soda before a game, your energy is going to crash about 15 minutes in. That does not help your team win!

10 Essential Guidelines

  1. Wise up to how food creates energy – pretty much know your macronutrients: fat, protein, carbohydrates
  2. Eat using a timetable – This was a very interesting section she went over that had a little chart showing you when your child should be eating how many hours before a game for optimal performance.
  3. Sip,sip sip – Remind us to sip water all day long instead of chugging it! Think about how full your belly can be when you drink too much water at once.
  4. Supercharge by eating whole grains
  5. Chomp fruits and vegetables
  6. Put protein in its place – Protein loading is not optimal.
  7. Sideline the sugar – Sports drinks such as Gatorade and Poweraide do not enhance performance. They are just sugar water.
  8. Make your plate whole.
  9. Relax, recover, rebuild.

Undermining Habits

  1. Drinking only when thirsty – you will not keep your body completely hydrated this way
  2. Skipping meals – Very bad! Your body is constantly trying to make up for that skipped meal then.
  3. Eating on the run – More likely to make poor food choices.
  4. Choosing foods that steal energy – I wish she would have elaborated on this one because I have no idea what it means! If anyone buys the book let me know!!
  5. Depending on supplements – Come on. Protein powder is not real food.

Overall this book sounds perfect for any parent whether you have an athlete or not. If your child eats, this book will benefit you. I really enjoyed that the book emphasizes different ethnic cultures in the recipe section so you can really get a wide variety of flavors for your child to try. It’s also very practical. No way out there ingredients that are hard to find or cost a fortune. And best of all, it’s centered around whole foods. ❤

4 thoughts on “Cynthia Lair’s Feeding the Young Athlete

  1. TY! As you know I have a 6&5 year old I feel like this book will be such a benefit for me as a parent, although I hope feeding my kids “real food” would be a no brainer. It’s surprises me how so many people don’t know what proper nutrition for their children is. Last year my sons pricipal had to send letters out to all parents because kids were bringing in their lunch boxes chips, poptarts, candy,etc.. No nutrition how can parents expect their kids to do well in school if their not feeding their growing little bodies properly(their poor brains)? Anyhow I will get off my soap box but I most definately want that book it sounds like my kind of read 🙂 thanks’ again for taking the time in letting us all in on what your learning. I love it.
    Happy Saturday Robyn!

Leave a Reply

