Non-Stop

Man I feel like I’ve just been going non-stop all day long. It’s crazy how much I look forward to eating dinner with Chase, relaxing on the couch, watching an episode of Dexter each night.

20121024-NOW 001

It was an early morning today, too early to workout first thing so I just had a cold quick breakfast of pumpkin overnight oats topped with a drizzle of maple syrup, almond butter, toasted almonds, and craisins. I think I’m a little pumpkined out for a bit. =P I’ll save my final jar for another month.

We got back our organic chemistry exams today and I am very happy with my score! I got a 98% plus an additional 3 points extra credit. ^_^ Oh yeah baby. I’m glad I got a grade I deserved instead of one I didn’t like in A&P.

20121024-20121024_115427

Lunch was eaten during a special lecture today. Finally eating my red sauce with veggies on top of pasta with a few Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs, a Pomegranate Chobani, and a  pluot.

20121024-20121024_125447

The lecture was by Cynthia Lair who is an amazing professor at my school. She also has her own super fun cooking blog, Cookus Interruptus. The majority of the recipes done in my Whole Foods Production class are hers and most can be found on her site so check it out!

20121024-20121024_115533

This lecture was on her book, Feeding the Young Athlete, and while I’d rather have heard more about her other book, Feeding the Whole Family, it was very interesting. It talked about nutrition in relation to child athletics and how parents and coaches can help their children win through what they feed them. I took some notes so just let me know if you’re interested in me talking more about it. My favorite thing about the lecture: Cynthia herself! She is just the cutest, friendliest, funniest little spitfire! Very approachable. You just want to be her best friend! Probably my favorite teacher I’ve met at Bastyr yet.

20121024-20121024_100136

Bastyr really is a great school. Check out these cute little “midterm survival packs” we found in our mailboxes today! I ate the chocolate between working with my Ochem lab partner on our lab report and studying for our quiz in A&P lab.

Midterms are almost over. I just have to worry about my A&P lab practical exam next week and getting my midterm project for Cultural Perspectives on Food written.

20121024-NOW 002

When I got home at 5pm, I ate the very last lemon raspberry cookie with a swig of skim milk and hit the gym! 30 minute treadmill interval run at 1.5 incline! I’m noticing a little…pain? in my left foot when I’m running. Maybe it has to do with me kicking myself in the shin when I tried to slip off my tennies yesterday! >.<

Directly after working out I hit the streets and walked to Trader Joe’s in the brisk Fall air. I had groceries to grab so I could prepare this awesome dinner!

20121024-NOW 003

Danica’s Vegan Soyrizo Lentil Soup is outstanding. I had a big bowl of it with a dollop of Greek yogurt to tone down the heat for my wuss pallet. Delicious!

20121024-NOW 004

For dessert I was craving some dairy after that spicy bowl of love so I had a little Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice Granola with milk. Perfect.

Well I’ve got some papers to write and I will hopefully hit the sack early. Night!

2 thoughts on “Non-Stop

  1. I was totally going to make Danicas soup today too!! I choose not to because I have other food that needs to be cooked first. When I saw it on her blog I immediately wanted to make it.. I’m so glad you like it now im really having that for dinner next week 🙂
    p.s. I would love to hear the lecture on feeding the young athlete, sounds interesting.

  2. Pingback: Daylight Savings | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

