Coming Down

Well I’m coming down with something. =( I woke up this morning with a slightly sore throat and it just got worse from there. Nausea, uncontrollable need for sleep, ect. Arg! I’m really hoping I’ll wake up tomorrow morning able to go to work and get some studying in.

20121019-NOW 001

I was up early today on my day off because I had an annual doctor’s appointment scheduled. Before heading there (luckily I live right across the street!), I scarfed down a bowl of Trader Joe’s Country Pumpkin Spice Granola in skim milk. Holy moly. Great granola! Love the pumpkin flavor and it has some really unique textures with it’s large puffed rice balls. I definitely recommend it.

My appointment went well but when I got back home I couldn’t keep my eyes opened. I curled up on the couch and napped for an hour.

20121019-20121019_114635

Then Chase woke me and we headed to Home Depot to get some tools he needed to try and fix our PlayStation 3 (Blu-ray player!) and while we were out I grabbed one of my free drinks at Starbucks: double tall ristretto, nonfat, light whip (I was feeling splurgie), Pumpkin Spice Latte. As you might be able to tell..they made it wrong! I went back and had it made the way I asked for it. The barista couldn’t understand that I wanted NONFAT!

I drank only half of this tall and saved the rest for tomorrow.

20121019-NOW 002

I had plans to volunteer at Bastyr’s Haunted Trails event tonight, getting community volunteer hours for the DPD from 4-10pm. Unsure if I would get a dinner break in there I made a big filling lunch of: delicata squash with red onions, semi-caramelized leeks, quinoa, and a Field Roast Apple Sage sausage. Delicious.

20121019-NOW 003

Then my CSA bin arrived from New Roots Organics! Yummy. I love getting these boxes of organic, local, in season produce! Plus it makes me try some new things like crimini mushrooms!

20121019-NOW 008

I was super impressed by the size of this organic red bell pepper. It was HUGE! I went around the apartment trying to find a good size comparison and stumbled upon this sleeping princess. We all know she is no small baby. It’s bigger than her head!

20121019-NOW 010

I got my produce in order and gave Boo-Boo a little bit of fresh carrot. She loved it!

Next I curled up on the couch ready to study for my A&P exam on Monday. But I ended up crashing for 4 hours. Yep, I had to cancel my volunteer hours because this girl was coming down with something!

20121019-NOW 011

Finally, my stomach woke me up around 6pm and I started cooking a healthy dinner of red sauce filled with my fresh produce: carrots, red bell pepper, spinach, mushrooms, and garlic and some simple pasta. However, once I started smelling the tomato sauce my stomach started churning and I knew that there was no way I was going to get this down.

20121019-NOW 012 

Accepting that you can’t always eat what you’d think would be good for your body when it’s sick, I settled on a toasted English muffin with almond butter on one and the last of my homemade chunky peanut butter on the other and both topped with orange marmalade. My stomach liked. I enjoyed it with a glass of skim milk and ended up snacking on a few crackers as well. Only thing appealing is carbs!

Anyway, like I said, hopefully tomorrow I’m all better.

P.s. Chase fixed our PlayStation! Yay!

3 thoughts on “Coming Down

  1. Feel better Robyn!! So I went to TJ’s today and totally got the pumpkin granola, can’t wait to try it for breakfast tomorrow. I also picked up the pumpkin macaroons in the freezer section. They are delicious you have to try them, they are a bit pricey you get 12 of them in a package for 4.99 and are like 2 bite size, I had one with coffee tonight yummo!
    Hope tomorrow is better, and your up and at em 😉

      • For sure worth trying the macaroons.. I just hope you love them 🙂 I had oats today topped with the granola but the oats made the granola weird, like a weird texture, so i’m going to try them in just milk, love the flavor. Glad you geel better, and wishing you a happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

