Bad Greens

So I mentioned how drowsy I became yesterday right?

20120928-NOW 003

Well I got up at 9 am this morning, made this bowl of pumpkin GF hot cereal topped with maple syrup, sunflower seed butter, toasted walnuts, and dried cherries, ate it quickly and decided the sunflower seed butter masked the pumpkin too much, then went and fell right back asleep until 1pm.

Yes that’s right. For some reason my body needed that much sleep. At 1 I forced myself out of bed and into the shower to really wake me up.

20120928-NOW 001

By 2pm, I was suddenly faint with hunger. I quickly heated up leftover minestrone soup from yesterday’s lab and made a quick salad with: escarole, golden beets, avocado, red onion, and balsamic vinaigrette. I managed the 1/2 cup of soup easily enough, but by two bites of the salad my stomach started to clench with pain. I dumbed it in the trash and tossed the rest of the  escarole too. =/ I just can’t seem to stop those greens from hurting me. I then ate my pluot and…

20120928-NOW 002

..reheated the Russian vegi ragus because I was so not satisfied at all. Mmmm mm. Almost as good as last night.

After a few hours, Chase and I headed out to Bellevue Square. We are headed to a wedding tomorrow and Chase had nothing to wear! We ended up getting him a nice dress shirt and tie that match my dress. ^_^ I will for sure get a picture of us both.

20120928-20120928_164258

Around 5pm I grabbed this Grande nonfat iced latte with caramel drizzle. Why do I still do this to myself? I convinced myself I needed a Grande, but I only ended up drinking about a Tall worth. =/ I think I want to be a better coffee drinker than I am.

20120928-20120928_174318

Chase decided he wanted to take us out to dinner (again!), so we ended up at Szechuan Chef which is the only Chinese place we’ve found that has decent crispy tofu! Today I decided to try the Honey Walnut Crispy Tofu and man was it delicious. It kind of had a honey mustard glaze and the perfect crisp texture on the tofu. I also liked that it came on a bed of cabbage so I could still get in at least some vegetable. Surprisingly, this small plate was all I fit in before I realized I was full. I love listening to my body. =)

Since I listened then I did end up snacking on a few more pieces of tofu after I hill stationary biked for 60 minutes later in the evening. I was just sooo hungry! For the record, I’m glad I tried out an after-dinner workout. It showed me that I really can make the time in the evening to do it and it wasn’t the end of the world. Sometimes I freak out if I don’t get my sweat on in the morning.

Speaking of sweating, anyone remember how I signed up for the new L.A. Fitness gym that was being built near my apartment? Well, it was finally completed today and, sadly, I went right down there and cancelled my membership in order to get a 100% refund. I just don’t have the time nor money to devote to this place. I have two other workout facilities (home and school) so really it was unnecessary. Sure they had a pool, but it was really unimpressive! Maybe someday I will find a good lap pool to join, but that’ll have to wait.

Anyway, going on an adventure tomorrow and I may not have an internet connection. I’ll be sure to fill you all in on Sunday at the latest. Goodnight!

One thought on “Bad Greens

  1. You’re right. Escarole is a very tough green. The French usually braise it in a broth. Even though it’s in with the lettuce section, it’s best cooked. Escarole, chicory, and dandelion greens fall into this category. Eaten raw, they have a very bitter taste and tough texture. Have fun at the wedding! Just saw pics of you in that gorgeous gray satin dress and you looked superb, very photogenic.

Leave a Reply

