Canning

My goodness I got some good sleep last night! I loved every moment of it and when I finally opened my eyes for good at 9am, I felt rested. Yeesssss! I also felt very hungry. w

20120920-NOW 001

Overnight oats to the rescue! Made with 1/2 a fresh peach and topped with a spoonful of White Chocolate Wonderful PB, a sprinkle of walnuts, and a little bit of dried cherries. I devoured this quickly and felt better.

20120920-NOW 002

Can I show you what I did last night? Good. ‘Cause I made my very first batch of homemade dill pickles! Canned them and everything. I’m pretty glad to have it done with and I just hope they taste amazing when I eventually open them. I followed this recipe and the canning techniques on the back of the jars box. Speaking of jars, I have a dozen 1/2 pint jars that I’ve decided are too small to fit salads or overnight oats in so I don’t know what to do with them! I’m thinking figuring out how to make jam as gifts? Suggestions welcome.

20120920-NOW 008

Pickles done, today I tackled the planned biscotti. Unfortunately, me tweaking recipes ends up being the bane of my existence. These coconut lime biscotti were a pain to make and didn’t even turn out that good. BUT I promised you all a biscotti recipe so instead I am just going to share my Dad’s (which I have yet to make but have eaten at his house and they were excellent!)

Ron’s New Biscotti

  • ½ cup canola oil
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ½ cup packed brown sugar
  • 3 eggs (3/4 cup Eggbeaters)
  • 1 T. almond extract
  • ½ T. vanilla
  • 3 oz. Cranraisins
  • 3 oz. crushed almonds or chopped walnuts.
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 3 cups all purpose white flour (add more to make a heavy dough that doesn’t stick to hands)
  1. Beat the first 6 ingredients together. Once mixed, add the nuts and cranraisins.
  2. Mix the flour and baking powder, then add to the wet ingredients. Form a heavy dough by adding some more flour a little at a time until the dough is no longer sticky.
  3. Make a big ball and cut into fourths. Manipulate each fourth to make a loaf about ½ inch thick and 8 inches long X 4 inches. (Make an 8 inch long roll then press down to ½ inch thick)
  4. Put two loaves on a sprayed cookie sheet or use parchment paper.
  5. Bake at 350 F. for 15 minutes and then remove from the oven. Add the other cookie sheet and do the same.
  6. Cool for 10 minutes. Using a sharp knife cut the loaf crosswise into 1” slices and set each piece on edge on the cookie sheet. Re-bake this sheet for 7 minutes so they are lightly toasted. Again, do the same for the 2nd sheet.
  7. After oven has cooled some with door open, put both cookie sheets back in the oven. Cool completely before storage so they are dry and crunchy.

In my tweaks I used lime juice as the flavoring, a mixture of spelt flour and whole wheat flour, safflower oil, and no nuts or fruit. >.< I totally intended to use almonds but forgot to put them in. Whatever My dough was unbelievably sticky…Anyway, follow the recipe above and you will have a delicious, subtlety sweet, crunchy biscotti.

I snacked on test pieces of my biscotti this morning and then hit the gym for a 60 minute hill stationary bike ride. Man was I sweaty!

20120920-NOW 007

Speaking of cookies, look at this big surprise I got at my doorstep today from my sister, Whitney! The card said they were Back to School cookies! HeartIsn’t that just the sweetest thing? I love the fall look.

20120920-NOW 009

Lunch I kept light and healthy because I knew I’d crack into a cookie later. So I made a salad with lettuce, harvest grains, a cut up Quorn Cutlet, and a big spoonful of salsa. It was surprisingly filling and tasty.

20120920-NOW 010

And then it was cookie time. ^_^ I enjoyed this big shortbread red leaf cookie with a mug of skim milk. Mmm mm. The cookie was really tasty though I wish the icing had been softer. Trying to decide if I should freeze the rest to slow consumption…

20120920-NOW 012

Dinner was a bit late since that cookie really tided me over but by 8pm I was ready for it. I roasted dill red potatoes, reheated the roasted veggies from last night, and fried up a salmon burger. Oh, can’t forget the glass of mead I drank with it!

It was a lovely day off and it felt so good getting to spend real time with Chase for once. Pretty soon those will be few and far between. Anyway hope everyone has a great Friday!

Do you can anything?

3 thoughts on “Canning

  1. Pingback: Tea Festival | Blueberries and Oats

  2. Pingback: Excited Planning | Blueberries and Oats

  3. Pingback: Caramel Drizzle Mmmm | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

