Holding it Together

Today was a rough day emotionally. =/ I received some unexpected news last night involving the financial situation of me attending Bastyr University this year that may put my goal of becoming a Registered Dietician on hold yet again. I’ve just felt kind of lost all day, not knowing what I can do with my life.

20120909-NOW 002

After a horrible night of sleep (at 4am Vincent decided to bite me in the finger, no reason why), I felt pretty zombie until I decided to make some breakfast. Greek yogurt, raw oats, ground flax, a Fire Dapple pluot, sprinkle of golden raisins, and a drizzle of sunflower seed butter.

This really helped me wake up and got my butt in gear. Next up I hit the gym for a 30 minute treadmill interval workout. I increased the incline again but ended up having to take it back down when I kept getting cramps. >.< I still stuck to my guns and finished though it was tough.

I spent the rest of the morning reading and feeling like I failed a life.

20120909-NOW 004

For lunch, I made a grilled cheese sandwich filled with the amazing slicing tomatoes I got from the CSA and heated up a can of TJ’s Chunky Minestrone. It was the perfect meal for a cool Fall day. We finally got a little rain after a 50 day drought which is a record in these parts.

20120909-NOW 008

Later, I felt even more helpless on reaching my career goal so I made myself feel a tiny bit better with a mug of Earl Grey tea and two squares of this TJ’s Dark Chocolate Bar filled with caramel and black sea salt that I’ve been saving for something special. I know you shouldn’t eat when you’re emotional but I did really good at only having two squares at least.

20120909-NOW 010

Later in the afternoon I got peckish and snacked on some chips and dip. No I wasn’t hungry…I kept it portioned at least by not eating out of the bag.

20120909-NOW 011

I broke my chip craving by making myself busy working on dishes for dinner. I tried to make Crispy Sliced Roasted Potatoes with one of the Apple Rose potatoes from my CSA but they turned out really stuck to the sheet. The ones I could pry off were moderately tasty and an interesting texture when they weren’t burnt to a crisp. >.<

I also roasted the last of my purple carrots in maple syrup and they were outstanding! And to round out my meal I had Quorn Chick’n Nuggets with a little raw honey and Bragg’s Liquid Amino Acids.

20120909-NOW 013 

Like I vowed yesterday, dessert will now revolve around fruit so I grilled up the most delicious Johanna Sweet peach and topped it with a spoonful of Greek yogurt. Holy Hell. It was amazing. I don’t need no cookies!

Overall I’m just trying to hold it together and use my CSA produce. I think I managed.

Edit: And this whole day of worrying about not being able to reach my career goal was all for nothing! Turns out it was all just one big misunderstanding. Gods I was I relieved to hear that. Here I thought I would have to move (again!) in order to get just my undergraduate in something I am passionate about. I even looked into what other things I could study at a cheaper school. Misunderstandings will be the death of us all.

2 thoughts on “Holding it Together

  1. Hooray!!! Im so glad everything is going to work out for you. You are going to do so well in the nutrition field! Dont you just love emotional roller coasters?! 😉

Leave a Reply

