Back Home

It has been one long day and it’s not even 9pm yet! O I’m glad I got 12 hours of sleep the night before last because last night I only got a measly 4. Yep. I just could not fall asleep with the excitement of our trip today. When my alarm sounded at 4am, my brain honestly couldn’t compute what was happening. I had a minute of just staring at my phone going “What’s it doing?” before I figured it out, turned it off, and hit the shower.

20120816-NOW 001

For breakfast I had prepared some overnight oats with the last of the Greek yogurt and skim milk. I added in frozen cherries and topped it with White Chocolate Wonderful PB, walnuts, and golden raisins. Delicious! This bowl had more yogurt than usual and I really preferred the texture. I think I’m going to need to tweak my standard overnight oats recipe now.

20120816-NOW 004

We stopped at Starbucks on our way out of town at 5am and I got a tall Earl Grey tea with 3 pumps vanilla and 2 inches of steamed nonfat milk. That’s right, an Earl Grey Tea Latte, but at least $1 cheaper ordered this way. ~.^

20120816-NOW 019

We drove and drove until we saw the sun rise.

20120816-NOW 048

Since I’d eaten breakfast so early, four hours later on the dot my stomach started to need more nourishment. Whatever So I broke into some Supreme Pretzel Crisps. A little too oniony, but I loved the crisp texture.

20120816-NOW 050

We drove…

20120816-IMAG0181

Stopped in Post Falls so I could eat half of this 6” Ultimate Veggie (spinach, American cheese, avocado, lettuce, cucumbers, red onions, green bell peppers, and S&P), sip some Lemon Pure Leaf tea, and…

20120816-NOW 077

…drive some more!

20120816-NOW 080

By the time we reached Missoula the babies were more than ready to run around and cause mayhem.

20120816-NOW 086

First thing we did (besides eat the rest of my sandwich) was help my dad bottle up some umeshu! Ever since I came back from Japan I raved to my father about how delicious this homemade drink was. He, being amazing, tracked down how to do it and we are giving it a go. Now we just have to wait at least 6 months before we can taste it. Sweat

20120816-NOW 090

For dinner, I told my dad I wanted one thing: grilled vegetables!! I’ve missed these summer staples so much. Grilled: corn on the cob, red onion, broccoli, bell pepper, green onion, and two different kinds of summer squash plus a few Quorn Chick’n nuggets with honey. This was absolutely perfect. I may have to beg and beg Chase so we can get our own grill back in Seattle.

20120816-NOW 092

I finally got the book I lent my sister (two years ago!!) back, so tonight I cracked it open to re-read it.

20120816-NOW 091

I think I’ll find a lot of good advice in here for you guys. A lot of you have emailed me about dealing with just these issues. I can’t recommend the book quiet yet, but once I’m done I’ll be sure to let you all know!

20120816-20120816_195139

And, of course, for dessert I had to have a slice of Missoula’s Great Harvest Bread Co.’s Cinnamon Swirl loaf! Yum yum. Oh for my exercise I did walk to The Dairy (local gas station) and bought a quart of nonfat milk. Heart

20120816-20120816_190633

I’m a little lonely tonight since Chase is off visiting his best friend, Ashton is already in Bozeman preparing for her wedding, my mother is having dinner with friends, and my dad is off at a meeting. I’m going to do my best to not eat my loneliness away though. In fact, I’m off to brush my teeth right now! Gnight!

3 thoughts on “Back Home

  1. Pingback: Kanpai | Blueberries and Oats

  2. Pingback: Let’s Just Forget | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

