Good Morning USA!

Happy 4th of July everyone! I tired to keep things festive today even though I was up at 4am to get ready for work.

20120704-NOW 001

Red, white, and blue (and yellow…) bowl of yogurt! Greek yogurt, ground flax, Quaker Oatmeal Squares, fresh strawberries, fresh blueberries, golden raisins, and a spoonful of heavenly TJ’s Sunflower Butter.

I love sunflower butter. And I’m totally counting it as “not a nut”. Bowl of pure deliciousness!

Blog UPLOAD40

On my break at work I enjoyed my free tall Sumatra drip coffee with 3 pumps coconut syrup and a splash of half and half. This paired lovely with my Aussie Bite I brought for a snack. ^_^

20120704-NOW 002

When I got back home around 10:30am I had a Skype chat with my best friend and now fellow blogger, Ashton! It was great to see her and her baby, Neea, who is turning 1 year old this month!

She was a great distraction from how hungry I was. After ending our call I downed a banana and sunflower butter…only the sunflower butter didn’t really go with it so I switched to crunchy peanut butter. I really need that texture!

Blog UPLOAD41

With the ravenous feeling gone, I took the time to cook lunch. Holy yum these Field Roast Vegan sausages are out of this world. I bought a huge pack of three different flavors at Costco and I don’t regret it at all. (Phew!) I enjoyed a smoked apple sage sausage with a mound of maple greens. It was fantastic. After eating though I felt like I needed a little bit more grains in my meal to feel fully satisfied so I grabbed another Aussie Bite with a 1/2 glass of skim. ❤

So what did I do with my holiday afternoon? Why I climbed into bed and took a nap! I wanted to be able to stay up late with Chase tonight. When I woke up around 3pm I got to work making my 4th of July treat. I’m calling them: Good Morning USA Strawberries! (because I love the American Dad theme song..)

20120705-IMG_20120704_161358.

Please head over to Let Them Eat Cupcakes for the full scoop. =)

Chase got home around 5pm and we dutifully hit up the gym for a 30 minute treadmill interval workout. I’m so glad we got it in today. It felt good, and somewhat easy, so I’m thinking about increasing my speeds.

20120704-20120704_192149.jpg

After 7pm it was time for dinner! Since it’s my birthday month, I had a free burger with my name on it at Red Robin, since we have no grill, we decided that that was the most 4th of July fare we could find. We started with sharing this giant root beer float that came with free refills. O.O Chase was determined to drink 3 of them so each one would have cost about $1 but we only managed 1.5.

20120704-20120704_194359.jpg

I always have somewhat of a complicated order whenever I eat here. I honestly feel a little bad but I want my food how I want my food! I got a Whisky River BBQ Burger with a BOCA patty, whole wheat bun, no mayo, raw red onions in place of the crispy fried onion strings, and sweet potato fries with a side of blue cheese. Oh. And cut in half please!

=D We had an excellent waitress and everything came out perfect.

I ate half my burger and 2/3 of my fries. I managed to bring some home for tomorrow! Woot woot.

For dessert I’m munching on my Good Morning USA Strawberries and playing some Diablo III! Big plans for tomorrow. Stay tuned. ~.^

Did you do anything fun for the 4th of July?

Sorry I know a lot of my readers are from outside the USA! In that case, What kind of holiday traditions does your country celebrate that aren’t found in the USA?

Leave a Reply

