1 Year Anniversary {Giveaway}

blueberriesandoats

Alright we all know I totally missed Blueberries and Oats first year anniversary last month on May 17th. Well I figured celebrating it exactly one more later wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world!

First off I wanted to thank you all for reading. You all really help me stay true to this healthy way of living and accept where I need help. Sure I write this blog for me, but knowing someone else is reading it gives me that extra push to strive to be better.

Reader, Heidi, posed a great question to me last month:

Question for you, how do you feel about your decision about not using Weight Watchers as a way of keeping yourself in check in regards to food? I think I have told you before sometimes I would love to just eat intuitively but I am so scared I will just put all my weight back on. It’s been a 2 1/2 years I have been a life time member and sometimes I feel like it’s so consuming.. What are your thoughts?

I completely agree with Heidi that Weight Watchers is all encompassing. When you’re doing it, you’re thinking about it all the time. What am I going to have for breakfast/lunch/dinner? If I go out with my friends what am I going to order to stay within my points? It’s very planning heavy. And, for me, that was exactly what I needed to lose weight.

Of course after ending Weight Watcher’s, I worried about putting on weight and obsessed about weighing myself every week for awhile. I kept a journal, planned out every meal, and started taking amateur photos. I even tried calorie counting apps like Lose It! and kept worrying over what I was putting in my body each and every moment of every day. It became truly obsessive and detrimental to my mental health.

I also struggled with figuring out what I should be eating. On Weight Watcher’s I ate a lot of Lean Cuisines, 100 Calorie Packs, and sugar-free products. Junk that that I wouldn’t even touch today! So clearly the transition was a little rough.

Luckily the thing that broke my constant obsession with food and weight was being thrown into the crazy and lonely world of Japan. I’m not sure how things would have turned out had I not taken that three month long imprisonment there. There, I had to let go of my control since I did not get to choose my meals always. However, it also made me quiet a snacking fiend since I never knew when I was going to actually get something I could eat. I stayed at my goal weight while eating candy, coffee drinks, and rice.

Oe and Exploring 059

Once State-side, I eased back into eating real food by reading healthy living blogs such as Carrots N Cake and Kath Eats Real Food and mimicked what they ate. I got ideas about food groups, portion sizes, and even the understanding that moderation is what’s key.

Of course, due to a new found snacking habit from Japan, I ended up putting some weight back on. I ended up getting back on Weight Watcher’s a second time to shed a little gain. I just needed it to remind me of what my plate should look like. That said, after I said goodbye a second time to Weight Watcher’s I’ve never looked back.

The key for me is this blog. I keep myself accountable by showing it all to you and going over each and ever photo of food each night. I know when I’ve been eating too much or when I’ve let my physical activities slide. And I know what I need to do to change that. =)

I don’t weight myself anymore because I would let that number define how I felt about myself. I may not be the super slim girl I came off Weight Watcher’s as but I know I’m a lot stronger and healthier than before.

Eating intuitively was hard at first. I was afraid I’d make the wrong choices. But I found once I told myself I could eat anything, all I really wanted was the real food. I’m a picky eater now. If it’s not amazing I don’t eat it. It it doesn’t meet my standards, I don’t eat it. You may surprise yourself and find that the old foods you used to crave (fries, fast food, ice cream, trail mix, mounts of pasta, etc.), don’t have that power over you anymore.

So if  you find yourself food obsessed I definitely recommend giving intuitive eating a try. You will probably surprise yourself.

Now on to the anniversary giveaway!

20120615-NOW 010

I’ll be sending one lucky reader a little package filled with some of my favorite things!

  • Cookie Butter
  • Nuts About Raspberries & Chocolate Trek Mix
  • Starbucks VIA Iced Caramel Coffee
  • Good Luck Kitty Cellphone Charm

I wish I could give away more but I had to remind myself I can’t blow all my grocery budget on this! I promise next year it will be bigger, better and on time!

So to enter please just leave a comment on this post. One entry per person, no fancy stuff! Winner will be drawn randomly on Friday, June 22nd.

Thanks for reading!

15 thoughts on “1 Year Anniversary {Giveaway}

  1. I am so glad you have found what works for you! I really should put more effort into intuitive eating but it is something that I still struggle with.

    Well, it just so happens that your favorite things also happen to be some of my pantry staples 🙂

  2. I love your blog and you inspire me all the time to keep on keeping on on my weight loss quest. Thanks for all you honesty and information! Happy anniversary!

  3. Robyn!!!! Awesome you have given me alot to think about! I think you are doing an amazing job, and I admire you so much. Keep up the good work, and thank you for answering my question.. Well done.. I think your give away is very thoughtful and generous. Happy Sunday to you, and late blog-aversary 🙂

    • I’m glad I’ve given you some things to think about. I really think you should at least consider giving intuitive eating a try (maybe just one week?) because I know how consuming planning every single thing you’re going to eat can be and I don’t want that for anyone!

  4. Happy 1 yr anniversary! Mmmm, you have great taste – I don’t see a single thing in the pic that I disagree with 😉

    m8usi at yahoo dot com

  5. I am a daily reader, although i hardly ever comment. I love your pictures. I used to do WW, but I’m like you, I find it too consuming…trying to find healthy on my own, which is proving just as consuming! LOL 😀

  6. Pingback: 2 Year Anniversary {Giveaway} | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

