Leeks & Kale <3

Sooo Blueberries and Oats had a birthday and I didn’t even notice.. >.> Does that make me a terrible blogger? May 17th was the 1 year birthday of this blog and sadly I’ve been so busy I don’t have anything planned to celebrate it. =( Perhaps soon I will hold a giveaway…Anyway thank you all for reading!!

This adventure has been a huge part of my life and I appreciate that you’re all here to share it with.

No JIP today since I am so sad I missed the birthday!

20120520-NOW 001

Again, I felt like I’d been hit by a bus when I woke up this morning. I had a headache all day. =( I almost blew off breakfast I felt so bleh but in the end I put the pot on the stove and made banana oats topped with banana, coconut flakes, and golden raisins. I’d forgotten how much flavor banana by itself gives oatmeal. It was scrumptious!

Trying to make up for skipping my workout on Friday, I headed to the supposedly 24 hour fitness center we have at my apartment complex only to find that the door was locked….I headed all the way back to my apartment to get my key only to have that not work either. Someone screwed up and locked the place down! I was livid!

Still wanting to do something I did a 10 minute Abs Workout App and 10 minute Leg Workout App on the floor. Not nearly as good as an interval treadmill workout but hey, at least it was something.

I had a very odd shift at Starbucks today, 11am – 5:30 pm, so I had my lunch in chunks.Blog UPLOAD18

At 10am: English muffin topped with caramelized leeks and shredded low fat mozzarella and broiled. I wasn’t really hungry but I was worried I wouldn’t get a break until much much later.

At 1:30pm: Massaged kale salad with mozzarella and golden raisins,  followed by a little Earl Grey tea and a chocolate chip granola bar.

Oddly spaced but it worked.

20120520-NOW 003

By 7pm though I was very ready for dinner. In fact, I tried to pack my plate because I knew how hungry I was! Kale and leek lasagna, caramelized leeks, and steamed green beans tossed in a little butternut squash sauce. Mmmm.

Have I mentioned how obsessed I am with caramelized leeks now? I may just go out and buy another bunch! They are good with everything! I’m also loving those kale salads I’ve been eating. My two new favorite vegetables! (sorry beets and Brussels sprouts…)

20120520-NOW 004

However, I was still hungry! Chase and I found these Everything Bagel  Pretzel Crisps on clearance at Target tonight so we decided to give them a try. We each had a 110 calorie serving with a few pieces of extra sharp white cheddar. Delicious! These crisps are super yummy.

20120520-NOW 005

And then to finish off the night I had two squares of Dark Chocolate with Sea Salt from World Market. Why is sweet and salty so good?

Anyway I hope you all had a nice relaxing Sunday. Mine wasn’t plus I found out today that they’ve taken my one day off a week from me, but oh well. I can rest when I’m dead right? =P

Goodnight!

2 thoughts on “Leeks & Kale <3

  1. Wow I can’t believe its been a year since you started your blog! That’s awesome 🙂 Question for you, how do you feel about your decision about not using Weight Watchers as a way of keeping yourself in check in regards to food? I think I have told you before sometimes I would love to just eat intuitively but I am so scared I will just put all my weight back on. It’s been a 2 1/2 years I have been a life time member and sometimes I feel like it’s so consuming.. What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

