Caramelized

JIP:

Japan 2010 002

My breakfast was almost this this morning. My go-to big hot meal in Japan. Old Fashioned rolled oats cooked with banana and nutmeg and topped with trail mix or a big scoop of the rare peanut butter my father sent me. All washed down with the must delectable Milk & Coffee I’d purchase at the closet vending machine for less than $2. Enjoyed while lying/sitting on my futon on the floor of my tatami matted room. Somehow mornings seemed to be the loneliest of times.

I just found this original post I did while in Japan. Check it out for my Day In The Life.

20120519-NOW 001

Like I said, today’s breakfast reminded me of those long lonely mornings with each bite. I used a mix of 1/3 cup oats, 1 tbsp brown rice cereal, and 1 tsp chia seeds as the base, cooked it with 1/2 banana and nutmeg, and topped it all with the other 1/2 banana, Dark Chocolate Dreams PB, nut topping, and golden raisins. It was utterly delicious. I was so glad I stuck to my hot cereal challenge though I almost went with a simple PB toast and milk.

Did I mention I had a really hard time getting out of bed this morning? It’s completely unnatural for me but I even hit the snooze button. I felt like I’d been hit by a bus! It was one of those mornings where I knew I needed coffee…

So after my 10 Arms Workout app and 5 minutes Cardio Workout app, a hot shower, and a trip to Juanita…

20120519-20120519_101613.jpg

I grabbed a tall iced coffee with one Sweet N Low and half and half. It totally energized me! I had one of the most productive days at my reception job I’ve ever had. I feel so accomplished and necessary to the business.

20120519-NOW 003

Around 12:30pm I took a break from my marathon of recall calling and ate a delicious and healthy lunch. A slice of kale and leek lasagna with a massaged kale salad! Massaged with an oil dressing and topped with walnuts and golden raisins. Now I’ve never eaten raw kale before so I wasn’t sure I was going to like this but it was freaking outstanding! Massaging the dressing into these dense greens is key. I can’t wait to make it again.

I got off an hour early from work (‘cause I’m so darn efficient!), and decided to be good and walk the 2 miles home instead of taking the bus.

20120519-NOW 004

On my way I stopped in to Starbucks for a refill on iced coffee and my Sweet Treat Saturday! One Brown Sugar Walnut Tart for me! It was heavenly and so much better for me than their big sized pastries. I enjoyed it out on the patio with the kittens while I caught up on my microbiology reading.

20120519-NOW 005

I considered having exactly what I had for lunch for dinner but for your sakes I decided to get cooking. It turned out delicious! High Fiber noodles topped with Dave’s Gourmet Butternut Squash sauce, a cut up steamed Quorn Naked Chik’n Cutlet, and caramelized leeks. Holy yum. The sweet and salty went so well together. Plus I cooked up the extra leeks I had waiting in my fridge and can use them all week long now!

Goals this week:

  • Minimal snacking – I feel like my sweet tooth was out of control last week.
  • Keep every workout – Been a slacker…
  • Get things done for microbiology projects – So close to being done with this quarter but I have two big projects I should actually focus on.
  • Go out and be social when asked! – My friend Del is in town until next Sunday so I better get out there and see her!
  • Play Diablo III only moderately – >.> I will not play it every second I have time free!

What are your goals this week?

2 thoughts on “Caramelized

  1. Pingback: Developing Green Thumbs | Blueberries and Oats

  2. Pingback: Self Worth | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

