Mother’s Day

JIP:

Japan 2010 022

My “blue” eyes were a big hit with the children in Japan. I used them to make the point to them about how Americans come in all mixes of ethnicities. No it’s not really possible for me (as half Japanese) to have blue eyes…but I still hope they got the gist!

Whenever I was asked “Robyn-sensei, why do you have blue eyes?” I’d reply (in Japanese) “I received them from my mother!” because I really did. ~.^ (For those who don’t know, she’s an optometrist!)

SandyByn

Speaking of my mom, Happy Mother’s Day!

20120513-NOW 002

I was up somewhat early this morning for a Starbucks shift that started at 7am. Since we have two guests camping out in our living room (Chase’s friends from Missoula, MT, Kurt and Ian), I quietly tiptoed around and ate breakfast on the floor of my bedroom.

Sugar cookie oatmeal topped with Dark Chocolate Dreams PB, nut topping, and dried cherries. MMMMMM. I’m so glad I started my day with a filling and delicious breakfast!

20120513-20120513_111606.jpg

Because I didn’t get a break until 11am! I was supposed to get off then but we were so slammed I ended up staying two extra hours. It was pretty funny that this morning was full of husbands with children, picking up their wife’s coffee. ^_^ They got something right!

By 11, I turned to my co-worker Ryan and said “Look I can stay as long as you need me ut I need my break now then!” I had a blood-sugar crash! He immediately sent me on break and I grabbed a free tall iced double white chocolate mocha (no wc). I never get really sugary drinks like this but I wanted to try something new since my manager was buying. This drink is super sweet but it was just what I needed to get my neurons firing again and to put some spring back in my step. I also devoured my banana and crunchy PB. ❤

20120513-20120513_134957.jpg

Once I got home (3 miles walking- check!) around 1:30pm I made myself a lunch plate. Last hunk of the Open Nature Whole Wheat French Loaf, fresh cucumbers, TJ’s Edamame Hummus (yes I bought more!), and a few mozzarella balls drizzled with balsamic.  I should have been starving but oddly enough I only managed to eat half the plate.

I needed a nap.

20120513-NOW 003

Once I woke up from my hour of bliss my appetite was back. We were going to dinner in about an hour though so I didn’t want to eat too much. I settled on this cute sample box of Quaker Oatmeal Squares Honey Nut I received in the mail a few days ago. This is my favorite cereal to eat straight out of the box!

20120513-20120513_174703.jpg

We went to Red Robin in Bellevue for dinner and I was hungry! I decided to try The Veggie: A MorningStar Farms® Grillers Prime® Veggie Burger topped with caramelized onions, grilled garlic-Parmesan zucchini, shredded romaine lettuce and fresh tomatoes and slathered with balsamic cream. Like always, I ordered it “protein-style” meaning a lettuce wrap instead of a bun, and I added blue cheese.

I ate 3/4ths of it but honestly, not my favorite. It was just too wet to work in a lettuce wrap and I’m not a fan of the Griller Prime Veggie Burger. I prefer the Gardenburger! Lesson learned. I also ate a butt-load (really appetizing description, I know) of sweet potato fries. I love them. ❤ Oh plus I managed to down 3 Raspberry Iced Teas! I like how their tea is very lightly sweetened.

Content but thankfully not stuffed, Chase and I headed back home while Ian and Kurt headed to Seattle to see the Death Cab for Cutie concert playing there tonight. With Chase all to myself and in honor of Mother’s Day, Chase is letting me pick any movie I want (I’m thinking He’s Just Not That Into You, Dan in Real Life, or Pride and Prejudice!) to watch together before I go to bed.

20120513-NOW 004

Our movie snack will be some Strawberry Pocky! And look, it’s heart shaped!

20120513-20120513_143347.jpg

Speaking of Mother’s Day, my babies may have forgotten about it. They’ve been spending all day basking in the attention of guests and ignoring their mother!! Confession: Ophelia smelled so much like Kurt I had to spray her with a little of my body spray to make her smell like “mine” again. >.>

Anyway, Happy Mother’s Day to all the mom’s out there be it real children or furry spoiled brats!

Did you do anything fun for Mother’s Day?

Leave a Reply

