Spring has Sprung

I loved not having to be the first one up today. Chase had to get to Bellevue for his first day of work! Mwhaha.

I felt like doing something a little different with my “strength day”. I didn’t feel like going to the gym so I rolled out my yoga mat (Ophie freaking loves this thing so it’s generally stuffed in my closet) and tried out the Daily Ab Workout app I have on my Android.

20120407-NOW 011

I did 10 minutes straight of simple abs workouts and boy was I feeling it! Sadly, I realized I didn’t only feel it in my abs but in my neck. >.< I had a very hard time adjusting myself so I didn’t use my neck so much! I must work on that. 10 minutes is pretty measly but it’s all I felt like today. Oh well, a little is better than none!

20120407-NOW 014

Warmed up and hungry I poured myself a cup of Kashi Golean Crunch and topped it with ground flax, craisins, and skim milk. I’d had a mighty craving for cranberries since watching them on How It’s Made last night! Mmm mm.

Today was a gorgeous day so being inside a doctor’s office for over 5 hours was a little rough. My co-worker and I kept staring longingly out the door which we at least got to leave propped open. One awesome perk about today (other than the weather!) was getting a free tall iced latte with caramel drizzle when I walked in the office door. Coffee on the house courtesy of the doctor. Yes I can be bought. ~.^

20120407-NOW 001

At about 1pm I couldn’t put off lunch any longer so I dug into my lunch pail! The rest of last night’s not so great sandwich, crisp fresh romaine lettuce, and 1/4 of a cantaloupe. Even with the dense oily sandwich the fresh produce made this lunch feel light and spring-y!

After 4pm I was on the bus headed home when I couldn’t get the thought of a nice walk in the sun out of my head. Instead of getting off at my stop I stayed on and took the bus all the way to my other job, Safeway, so I could grab Chase a treat.

20120408-IMG_20120407_183513.

I then walked the 1.7 miles back home in the sun. ^_^ I love how the cherry blossoms go from pink to white! I’m also very excited that with all this blooming going on I have not noticed any signs of my seasonal allergies. My fingers are  crossed that I left them in Montana!

20120407-NOW 002

When I walked in the door I was very much in need of a pick me up. I didn’t really think about how PB M&M’s count as having nuts in them…whoops. >.< Otherwise, I did pretty good for a no nut day!

Chase walked in the door around 5:30pm from his first day of work. Like I thought, he’s going to have to get used to the boringness of reception life. He said he felt like he just sat around all day. Yep! That’s what we do!

20120407-NOW 003

The “treat” I nabbed him at Safeway was another loaf of artisan garlic bread! To be honest, I really wanted some to help me finish off my roasted vegetable minestrone. I’ve probably still got two servings left.

It was perfect for dinner though. Big bowl of soup topped with shaved cheese, three pieces of garlic bread (so freaking good and hearty), and a glass of shiraz.

We did go on a small walk to enjoy the spring evening but otherwise our night was pretty lazy.

20120407-NOW 005

While we watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer (almost done with season 4!) I had some dessert. Half cup Costco Greek yogurt topped with 1/4 cup Kashi Golean Crunch and fresh strawberries. To be honest I was really craving some DQ or frozen yogurt but this did the trick. ~.^

Do you have any strength workout you follow?

4 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung

  1. Right now I do the biggest looser boot camp workout with Bob I love it! It totally kicks butt! I do this 3 to 4 times a week with 8 lb weights. I alternate with the biggest looser power sculpt workout. I think combining these 2 I have for sure seen the difference in how much i sweat and my muscles feel fatigued like I really had a good work out…

    • Oooh I forgot about the awesomeness that is workout videos! I only have ever done two: some Billy Blanks one that I did not like and Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred which I loved!

      Perhaps a short workout strength video would be perfect for me to do on my Saturdays before work. Thanks for the reminder, Heidi! I’ll have to look into those Biggest Loser ones!

    • You know, I remember them always saying look at the ceiling back in grade school and somewhere along the way I forgot about that! Thanks for the reminder!! When I took pilates they always said stare at your belly so I think that’s where I got in the bad habit. For the record I did feel it in my abs the next day just not as much as my neck. ~.^

      I’ve never heard of this Tone It Up but I will definitely check it out!

Leave a Reply

