Happy St. Patty’s Day!

Did you all have a fun holiday? I sure did even though I also had my first day of work as an optometry receptionist. Today was very eventful!

20120317-NOW 001

I started off my day with a vow to incorporate greens into every meal. For breakfast I made a healthy shamrock shake, and a toasted English muffin with butter and cocoa/coffee/sugar grinds.

The shake was a disaster! First off, I have a shitty blender so it took me forever to break down the frozen banana and hunks of spinach. Secondly, banana and mint flavoring really don’t work in my book so to mask the banana I added more mint extract. Big mistake! It tasted like eating frozen toothpaste.  -_- Gross. I threw it out. I ate the muffin, I went for more food.

20120317-NOW 003

Savior: Greek yogurt, 1/3 cup Kashi Golean Crunch, honey. Yum yum.

I really tried to get in my strength training this morning in my living room but I just wasn’t feeling it. I did a few arm weights and called it quits. Just too tired. >.<

Work started at noon for me today so I decided to eat my lunch around 11:30 because I knew I wouldn’t get a lunch break. =/ 4 hour shifts kind of suck. I swear I took a picture of my lunch, but my camera says otherwise. >.< Whoops. I had a small bowl of tomato soup and a side salad with butter lettuce, pecans, cherry tomatoes, parmesan, and olive oil. It really was mediocre so I threw in a baggie of trail mix too.

I then went off to work! No, I didn’t walk the 2 miles this time since it was in the low 30’s and raining, but I do plan on making that my means of transportation soon. Work went smoothly and I feel like I have a lot to offer this office. Sadly though, it’s not many hours. Happily, I just got a call back for another job interview on Monday! I’m really excited about this one. I’ll let you know more later. ~.^

20120317-NOW 006

When I got back home around 5pm my belly was gassy and swollen from hunger. Chase and I made a small snack of TJ’s Multigrain Crackers (really good, review to come) and some cheddar cheese. The pain subsided and I got a phone call from these two characters:20120317-20120317_194223.jpg

My mum, Sandy, and her boyfriend, Dave! They drove all the way from Montana today to spend a few days here with us! We had a lot of trouble figuring out where we wanted to eat but on the way to a steakhouse we found on Yelp we saw a Red Robin and knew that was the place for us! We’re just fancy like that. ~.^

20120317-20120317_194209.jpg

When we finally got a table (turns out everyone else agrees burgers are St. Patty’s Day fare!) we all ordered drinks! Hey, It is St. Patty’s Day after all! Even though I love Red Robin’s margaritas, I decided to mix it up and tried their Strawberry Lemon Vojito. Absolut Citron vodka, Minute Maid Lemonade, fresh mint, sweet strawberries, and club soda. It was super refreshing! Mojitos are the only time I don’t mind vodka.

 20120317-20120317_195701.jpg

I really considered getting my burger with a bun because I was that hungry, but I wanted to stick with my eating green vow. I got a Blue Ribbon Burger with a Gardenburger patty, lettuce wrapper, and sweet potato fries! Basted with a tangy steak sauce and topped with crumbled Bleu cheese. Served with crispy onion straws, lettuce, fresh tomatoes and zesty chipotle mayo. I request no mayo but I’m pretty sure it came with it anyway. Oh well. I devoured it all and loved every bite!

20120317-20120317_210730.jpg

For dessert we were going to go to Cold Stone Creamery but I talked everyone in to going back to Cherry de Pon! I ❤ frozen yogurt! Plus their 20% off grand opening deal is still going on. ~.^ Tonight I got tart original and espresso topped with slivered almonds, chocolate chip cookie dough chunks (gross, never again), mochi balls, and fresh strawberries.

Soo much better than real ice cream!

Anyway, I’m beat and going to go jump in bed. Big touristy plans for tomorrow!

What did you do for St. Patrick’s Day?

Leave a Reply

