New & Old

Today was filled with a trying out a bunch of new and old things! It was really all very delicious. ~.^ It started off with me waking up at 8:30am just to hit snooze so I could eat breakfast when there was enough natural light to capture it! Daylight savings comes too early in my opinion.

20120312-NOW 001

I was pretty excited to try out this new breakfast. I basically mixed Fiber One pancake mix with water, canned pumpkin, and pumpkin pie spice, grilled up some pancakes, and topped them with almond butter, honey, and craisins. It was divine! Surely you can see I need to work on my pancake making skills. I don’t think I can blame the batter since, with some work, I was able to make the last cake beautiful!

I love pumpkin pancakes! It made them more moist and had a succulent earthy undertone. The craisins on top really substituted for the sugary sweetness of maple syrup. I will definitely be making these again soon!

After breakfast I psyched myself up and made myself hit the gym. I am soo very glad I did too because I feel about 300x better. The 3 days of rest I took (apparently job interviews really toll my body) really made my muscles ready to work! Since I haven’t found a new treadmill incline workout, I went back and did an old favorite. It felt easy! I may just keep this one and increase the speed.

Today I had one thing I wanted to do: get to Trader Joe’s! It rained absolutely all day but I braved the storm, grabbed Chase’s umbrella, and trudged my way there fighting wind and rain. I didn’t get to browse as much as I’d have liked since my basket got heavy fast, but it still was a lot of fun. I picked up some good loot!

20120312-NOW 003

For example….Peanut Butter Cups Trax Mix! Mini (very mini) peanut butter cups with dried Bing cherries, almonds, and cashews. I quickly divided this bag up into snack bags and ended up eating two throughout the day. New Rule: Only one bag of trail mix a day!

This mix is good, I mean come on it has peanut butter cups, but I don’t think I’d buy it again. For me, trail mix is all about the nuts and there is just honestly not enough in this one.

20120312-NOW 005

Lunch around 1:30pm also consisted of a new find! TJ’s Chicken-Less Mandarin Orange Morsels!! Ever since seeing these on The Actor’s Diet I knew I had to try them. 

20120312-NOW 006

I counted out a serving (8, not what the package says (10) but if you are going to say there are 2 servings in there they better be equal!), baked them in the oven until they were nice and crispy, slathered them in sauce, and enjoyed them on some leftover fried rice with steamed spinach.

They were absolutely everything I thought they would be. Crispy, tasty, and did not leave you with that gross greasy feeling that Chinese take-out often gives you. At $2.99 for two meals I consider these very worth it. ^_^

20120312-NOW 010

I cooked dinner tonight since I’ve been putting off making a big batch of veggie spaghetti sauce for awhile now. In the mix: frozen veggies, spinach, Morningstar Farm’s Crumbles, and tomato sauce. Served on whole wheat spaghetti noodles and garnished with shaved parmesan. Oh plus some Charles Shaw Shiraz! Again I say, you can’t have Italian without wine!

I love trying out new foods and eating old loves. ❤ If only I could try something new everyday!!

What’s something new that you’ve tried?

Leave a Reply

