Sweet Cravings

First off: Did I have a Dairy Queen small cherry dipped cone for dinner last night? o.O Yes I did. Sometimes you just got to give into a craving. Secondly: Was it everything I’d been dreaming about for weeks? Yes! I loved every bite and didn’t feel guilty about a thing. Third: Did I wake up super super hungry this morning? Yes! Ice cream really isn’t that filling.

20120311-NOW 003

I got out of bed around the new 9am I was so hungry! I decided to make a pumpkin version of my breakfast yesterday. Looks like oatmeal, right? It’s not! It’s actually Bob’s Red Mill’s 10 Grain Hot Cereal! 10-Grain Cereal is made from stone ground high protein hard red wheat, rye, triticale, oat bran, oats, corn, barley, soy beans, brown rice, millet, and flaxseed.

I thought it might end up like a big bowl of mush but I actually really enjoyed the texture! It’s somewhat chewy but still creamy. I mixed it with some canned pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and ground flax. I topped it with a scoop of coconut pecan frosting (don’t ask what in the world I was thinking!) and some craisins.

Turns out frosting can’t replace the texture of nut butter. I vow to never put frosting in my breakfast again!!

20120311-NOW 004

For lunch I was really craving a burger! Vegan Boca burger topped with cheese, pickle, and avocado on a toasted sesame bun and BBQ sauce. On the side I sautéed some Brussels sprouts, more than my stomach could fit! I ended up sharing them with Chase. ❤

20120311-NOW 005

I really need to get to Trader Joe’s because I have absolutely no fruit to eat to finish off my meal! I always need to end on a sweet note even if I’m stuffed. >.< So to stop me from snacking (on what!? We have no snacks!) I made myself a cup of sugar-free cocoa.

20120311-NOW 006

Oddly enough, around 5pm, my energy took a real dive. I felt so drowsy I was sick. I could hardly focus. The only thing that sounded appealing was peanut butter. So I made myself a small PB&J quesadilla with a leftover fajita tortilla, almond butter, and strawberry jam. Delicious! Maybe my whole no-nut thing every other day isn’t what my body wants. =/

20120311-NOW 010

Dinner tonight was brought to us by: Chase! He made the entire thing. =D Fried rice (mix of leftover white and brown) with frozen veggies, eggs, and soy sauce. I sprinkled some sunflower seeds on top for some crunch.

The fried rice was pretty good but it really needed some onion element. It just lacked that zing!

20120311-NOW 013

So..I have a confession. I really wanted cake for dinner tonight. O.O I know, I know. I don’t know why I’ve been having these off the wall unhealthy food cravings!

Luckily, Chase is smarter than me (sometimes!) and made us dinner with vegetables. But for dessert I gave in and thawed a German chocolate cupcake and added the coconut pecan frosting. ~.^ Perfection. The cake was a little bit drier since it had been frozen, but it was still quiet enjoyable. Honestly, I want another one.

Tomorrow is a start of a new week so I can get myself back in order! Have my workout scheduled planned and am definitely going to the store tomorrow!

How do you make fried rice?

4 thoughts on “Sweet Cravings

  1. I am in the same boat on the cravings – this past weekend was horrible, I ate my weight in candy! Ah! I was so good for weeks and then just fell off the wagon completely. Trying to get back to clean eating but it’s been a struggle, ugh. So good luck!
    – Karlie

  2. Hi Robyn, I have a GREAT soup recipe for you. You wanted one without chicken broth, it is the best ever, but you do have to own a blender. It probably comes to 75 cents/serving and is fabulous. Here goes:

    Broccoli and White Bean Soup

    1 lb fresh broccoli, roughly chopped after removing leaves and a little at the end
    1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
    1 medium to large onion diced
    1 teaspoon hot red pepper flakes (the ones your steal from the pizza parlor)
    Salt
    5 fresh garlic cloves, sliced
    3 in piece of parmigiano-Reggiano rind, yes only the rind, wierd
    1 16 oz can of white beans like cannellini or other rinsed and well drained
    1/2 cup finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano (optional for top)

    Heat the oil in a large pot or Dutch over over med heat. Add onions, stir frequently for 5 min. Add the red pepper flakes and sliced garlic and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add the broccoli and 1 tablespoon salt and cook for 5 min, stirring. Add 6 cups hot water and the cheese rind. Raise the heat to medium high, bring to a boil and cook for 3 minutes. Then reduce the heat and simmer for 20 min.

    Remove the cheese rind. Transfer the soup in small batches to a blender or food processor cover tightly and blend until smooth. Add beans and continue to blend. Return the soup to the Dutch over and add the cheese rind back in, season to taste with salt and simmer for 10 min. The grated cheese can be added on top, but is not necessary, the soup is creamy and filled with vitamins and fiber.
    Rita

    • Oooh thank you, Rita! I actually made a soup very similar to this one about a year ago! I When I made it before, the beans really messed with my stomach and I’m worried they will do so again. It tasted amazing though for the record! =/

      Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

