Buy or Not to Buy

Have you ever found a book on Amazon that you really think sounds good, but the reviews of it aren’t stellar so you’re not sure if you should waste your money on it? That’s where I’m at right now! This book, MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend, has caught my eye! Sounds about right, yes?

Speaking of best friends, I finally got to speak to mine on Skype this morning!

20120306-NOW 001

First I ate my breakfast of almond butter, strawberry jam, ground flax, and banana on wheat toast with a side of skim milk and a mug of hot chai green tea! It was exactly what my stomach felt like and I am so glad I added a mug of tea. It kept me from crawling back into bed to warm up!

Ashton and I talked for over an hour, catching up on each others lives and getting started on planning her wedding! She’s hoping for this August so we have a lot of work to do!

Once we said our goodbyes, I laced up my sneakers and headed straight to the fitness center where I got in 35 minutes on the stationary bike. On the way back to the apartment I noticed what a lovely day it was outside. I could see the sun! As soon as I was dressed Chase and I took a long 4 mile walk to Safeway and back again.

Why Safeway? Because I was craving soup for lunch!

20120306-20120306_134240.jpg

But of course, we left right around lunch time so by the time we got there I was very faint and dizzy. After spending quiet awhile finding the right soup (everything uses freaking beef/chicken stock!) and waiting forever in the check-out line (express my ass), I had to make a quick decision and grab a $0.99 bar of energy! Chase and I split this Kit Kat and it helped us both feel so much better (Chase hadn’t eaten all day!). From now on I should probably plan my outings better >.< ‘cause without that candy bar the walk home would have been very very slow and unplesant.

20120306-NOW 005

Finally there was lunch at 2:30pm! 1/2 can of Safeway “progresso” Minestrone soup with a sprinkle of parmesan and a side of Social Snackers and sharp cheddar. It was perfection! I really aught to look into making my own minestrone!

20120306-NOW 009

Later in the afternoon I ended up enjoying 2 German chocolate cupcakes (I blame watching Cupcake Wars!) and a cup of French vanilla tea.

20120306-NOW 010

By 7:30pm I couldn’t wait for dinner any longer! I knew it was going to be easy: reheated brown rice and teriyaki veggies plus a pan fried salmon burger, but I didn’t know it was going to be freaking outstanding! These veggies tasted even better today having let the teriyaki sauce really soak in over night and I’m glad I bought salmon burgers at Costco. I don’t eat fish very often but I know it’s very healthy for me to have it every once in awhile for it’s omega 3’s and vitamin D.

20120306-NOW 012

For “dessert” I enjoyed a 1/2 cup of Vanana lowfat yogurt with 1/3 cup Kashi Golean Crunch. This yogurt is soo velvety!

So now that I’ve shared my eats with you would you help me out and tell me what to do!

Buy or not to buy?

4 thoughts on “Buy or Not to Buy

    • Haha thanks for commenting, Alex! Normally I can watch food shows and they don’t make me hungry at all since I don’t eat over half of what they’re making (meat!), but cupcakes!? Who doesn’t eat cupcakes!?

      Thanks for your input on the book, I really really want to but since I’m really trying to watch my budget right now I think I’m going to have to wait. >.< Maybe when I land a job I'll get it for myself as a reward!

  1. Robyn, Go online to Amazon and click on “See inside book.” Then keep clicking to go through the pages. Eventually you will come to the intro (20+ pages), plus chapter 1 and part of chapter 2, minus a page here and there. This ought to give you a pretty good idea of whether you want to buy the actual book or not. happy reading! Karen the ex-librarian

Leave a Reply

