Poor Girl

Sorry about the wordless post yesterday. To be honest, I just had a really bad day that I didn’t want to talk about. Due to this overly emotional and tiring day I ended up sleeping until noon today! When I finally got up, I knew I didn’t want anything sweet for breakfast due to an overdose of emotionally eaten cookies last night.

001

Luckily I’ve had this box of Tofu Scrambler since back in my vegan days! It’s just a spice and dehydrated vegetable mix so it was still good. To be honest, I was hoping it had bigger pieces of veggies in it since I don’t have any. Sadly it was basically ground up spices, and yes I prefer eggs to it.

002

I ended up having a tofu scramble sandwich with some cheddar cheese, ketchup, and grapes. It was yummy but I’m really not big on savory breakfasts.

After eating, I still felt very meh from yesterday so I crawled right back into bed. So what do you do to get yourself out of an emotional slump? Call your sister of course! One long phone call with my sister, Whitney, had me lacing up my shoes and hitting the gym. And boy did my 30 minute treadmill interval training feel good! I forget sometimes how much getting in a good hard sweat increases my mood.

003

Once I was all showered and ready for my day (around 2pm!) I snacked on some of my favorite trail mix. I really thought it was all I would need till dinner. Little did I know…

004

An hour or so later I really needed something more substantial and Chase got me craving PB&J toast with ground flax and banana. Yum yum!

005

Later we snacked on some low-fat popcorn too. I had some because my body still was craving salt but I wasn’t hungry.

007

Vinni really enjoyed hanging out with us today. We watched a lot of Mission Menu on Hulu and just tried to be okay with our lives. I did call the doctor’s office where I had my interview last week to see if they had made a decision but alas no dice yet.

012

For dinner I used up the only veggies we had left in the house. (Yes I’ve been trying to avoid them) In fact I used two ingredients I don’t really like: carrots and lentils! I present to you:

Poor Girl’s Orange Soup

  • 4 cups Vegetable Broth
  • 1 cup Orange Lentils
  • 2 cups cut up Baby Carrots
  • Spice with TJ’s 21 Spice Salute

It tasted surprisingly good! I am actually pretty proud of how well it turned out. ^_^ I ate a bowl with some Social Snackers and the last of our white cheddar cheese. (We did end up walking to the store and grabbing $4 worth of vegetables to get me by until Thursday (March))

013

While we were at the store, Chase bought some Drumsticks! Of course, he nicely gave me one and I devoured it. ^_^

003

I also ate another serving of TJ’s Nuts About Raspberries and Chocolate trail mix and a few unpictured Tootsie Rolls. I don’t know why but I got super super hungry tonight. Might be because my Poor Girl’s soup actually isn’t that filling or because my hunger level always changes around this time of the month (if you know what I mean..).

Have any good money-saving tips?

One good money-saving tip I have is to get it for free if you can! I try to do that by entering giveaways online! For example. Danica is hosting an Eggland’s Best Giveaway right now! Free eggs? Yes Please.

Leave a Reply

