One For the Girls

Yeah that’s right. I’m doing a whole post on this annoying little thing we all face or have once faced called menstruation. Why? Because I’m sick and tired of all these changes my body experiences every month! Plus I was a little bored and ended up doing a lot of research anyway so why not share. ^_^

This is going to be about what sort of foods we can eat  to make this time of the month just a little bit more bearable.

THE BEST FOODS TO EAT DURING MENSTRUATION

  1. Foods High in Magnesium – Magnesium can help relieve the symptoms of bloating due to it’s role in assisting in normal muscle contraction. Ex. Halibut, cashews, artichokes, tofu, broccoli
  2. Foods High in Manganese – It may decrease your menstrual flow. This effect may be related to manganese’s role in helping your blood clot. Ex. Wheat germ, buckwheat, beans, pineapple, bulgur
  3. Foods High in Essential Fatty Acids – May be the key to avoiding menstrual cramps! Linolenic acid (Omega-3) relaxes uterine muscles and prevents contractions. Ex. fish, flax seed, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds.
  4. Foods High in Iron – Due to blood loss you need to replenish your red blood count to avoid anemia, a condition that can leave you lethargic, irritable, depressed and weak. Ex. Organ meats, red meat, fish, beans, molasses, dark leafy greens

While I did find information on what type of foods to avoid, I found they conflicted a lot. I think if one concentrates on what will help alleviate the problems one can ignore the ones that apparently deter us such as chocolate and dairy. I mean come on!

All and all, concentrate on eating healthy foods. Whole grains, lean proteins, vegetables, fruit, and healthy fats. Plain and simple.

Clearly, by looking what I’ve been eating, there’s no wonder I’m not having such a good time. I need to get my vegetables back!

What do you do to help yourself out during that time of the month?

I try not to stress myself out by being less strict on exercise and diet ideals. Sometimes you just need a day off!

Leave a Reply

