Ethiopian

What would make being sick worth it is if I could just get a good nights sleep. =( I slept horribly again last night, waking up every two hours or so either too hot, too cold, some noises, ect. It was not a good night.

I still made myself get out of bed with my 8:30am alarm though.

20120103_084232

I decided on Greek yogurt, pumpkin, pumpkin butter, peanut butter, ground flax, Kashi Golean Crunch, and dried cherries for breakfast. It hit the spot on my throat and I am really trying to use up all my pumpkin stuff.

Why was I up so early? Well I wanted to make sure I could get to Hastings to say one last goodbye to Chase and get my ring from him I’d left at his place for good luck! I know my surgery tomorrow is going to go fine, but on the chance that I never see again I don’t want to forget his face.

20120103_113702

Around 11 o’clock I had an itch for a banana and peanut butter. I love buying these small organic bananas because they taste better and are more snack size than those huge bananas I see at the regular grocery store.

20120103_121218

And then I spent my remaining time with my babies. This is Ophie’s “You know mommy, you don’t really have to leave…” face.

20120103_123756

For lunch I still had leftover General Tao’s Tofu leftover from New  Year’s Eve! So I reheated it with some streamed Brussels sprouts and green beans. It was delicious. I love using my own steamed veggies so much more than veggies that come with Chinese food because they aren’t soaking in oil!

20120103_141338

Before my mother came and picked me up at 3pm I also snacked on some pecans. Some chocolate covered, some not. It’s a good thing I did too since we didn’t have dinner until about 7:30 Missoula time!

20120103_180542

When I travel I love to try new cuisines that we don’t have back at home (which is a lot of them!), so tonight my mother and I decided to be adventurous and try Ethiopian food!

20120103_182341

We walked to it from our hotel and eventually found it (after asking for help) inside The Flour Mill complex. We managed to nab a small table and ordered an appetizer of Veggie Sambussa (delicate pastry filled with lentils, onions, and spices). It was delicious and fun to taste all the different flavors in these little packets of yum.

20120103_183920

For dinner I ordered the Vegetarian Combination Plate since I’d never even heard of Ethiopian cuisine before I had no idea what to try.

From the top down:

    • Yatakilt Alicha: cabbage, carrots, and potatoes delicately sautéed in garlic, ginger, and tumeric.
    • Yemisir Kik We’t: lentils cooked in a hot and thick berbere sauce. (Too spicy for me. Had a tiny bite)
    • Yaterkik Alicha: split peas cooked and seasoned with onions, peppers, and herbs.
    • Shiro: finely ground chick peas, mildly spiced and cooked with chipped onions and tomatoes. (My favorite!)

These were served with Injera, which is the rolled things on the side. Basically a thin crape like thing made out of teff.

I ate about 2.5 of the teffs with the various dishes. Way too much food to finish though! Overall we really enjoyed trying new things!

20120103_193117

Once we walked back to our hotel we decided to have a simple dessert. Apple and a cookie my mum brought me from her lunch date! Yum.

LASIK eye surgery first thing in the AM so I am off to get some sleep! I  hope to see you all tomorrow! Har. Har!

Leave a Reply

