Protein

So remember how yesterday all I wanted was to stay in bed? Well I got my wish today when I woke up with a stuffy nose, sore throat, and aching head.

001

I started it out right at least. I had a nice big bowl of pumpkin oatmeal with peanut butter and craisins.

As a vegetarian for over a decade now, I know it’s important to make sure I’m meeting the protein requirements. I picked today to track my protein intake just to see where I’m at. I do this tracking once every couple of months since I generally eat the same things. 

The USDA recommends an average of 0.8g/kg/day. I computed my recommended intake to be about 47.2 g/day.

My breakfast alone contained: 9.8g protein

003

With my sister’s insistence (sometimes you just need someone else to tell you that it’s okay to let yourself rest) instead of getting in my daily workout I crawled back into bed with a mug of Theraflu. I so prefer drinking this hot drink over a dose of cough syrup! It put me out for a few hours with really strange dreams of Chinese food and enchiladas. o.O Don’t ask.

004

After I awoke and showered for work I had a filling lunch of a vegetarian enchilada, Tofutti sour cream, a smidge of canned corn, and the last of my spinach!

Estimated protein for lunch: 29.7g

p20111228-142023

At work we’d received yet another holiday basket from a vendor! I ended up eating two of these Kirkland peanut butter cups (omg better than Reese’s!) and some unpictured popcorn. I know I didn’t need them but hey more protein for the day!

Protein: 2g

005

Chase and I had plans to video game it up tonight and he sweetly surprised me with a trip to Good Food Store! I got a bowl of Mushroom Barley soup and split a Mango Madness smoothie (Mango, banana, orange juice and nonfat vanilla yogurt with Vitamin C) with Chase. This was exactly what my sick self wanted!

Estimated protein: 13g

006

While we played I also munched on Hersey’s almond kisses!

Probably about another 4g of protein.

007

And to top it all off a packet of Swiss Miss No Sugar Added hot chocolate. Another 2g of protein!

Grand total of protein for the day: 60.5g out of 47.2g. Yeah it’s really not as hard to get protein in as most people would believe.

Anyway I’m feeling a little better and glad I took it easy today. I’m hoping I will wake up tomorrow full of energy and health!

Have a good night everyone!

Leave a Reply

