Winter Solstice 2011

Solstice tonight was a blast =) I wish I had hours to work on this post but it’s 40 minutes to midnight and I have to be up at 6:30am tomorrow!

001

Solstice started off with a yummy bowl of plain Greek yogurt, a dollop of pumpkin butter and a dollop of peanut butter, Kashi Golean Crunch, dried cherries, and a sprinkle of white chocolate chips for fun. Yum!

I then got in my 60 minutes of stationary biking because I knew I would really need the calorie burn for tonight!

003

Lunch was simple. The last two of my farm fresh real eggs, real cheddar cheese, and cherry tomato scramble plus an English muffin with orange marmalade and a half glass of soy egg nog for holiday spunk. ~.^

p20111222-143744

My stomach was held over until a bit before 4pm today where my energy crashed and I made a cup of “coffee” with that coffee/creamer mix and enjoyed my banana. ❤ I then had the “Banana phone” song stuck in my head.

After work, I zipped to Chase’s place to start the holiday festivities!

p20111222-175020

He surprised me with these thoughtful and wonderful Solstice gifts! A really cute (not pink!) Hello Kitty 50th Anniversary bag, and an adorable Hello Kitty set of fork/spoon/chopsticks! I can’t wait to use them!

p20111222-180530

For dinner tonight we had big plans to try out The Depot. It’s an expensive restaurant/bar in town that we’ve never eaten at. We had a hard time deciding if we should go with the bar menu (cheaper) or the sit-down menu. Since we only had a gift card to spend, we choose the cheaper option.

p20111222-181624

We started with their fried veggie platter. An assortment of vegetables with blue cheese and ranch dipping sauces. Tasty but hey, anyone can fry up some vegetables. We couldn’t finish the huge plate but we tried.

p20111222-184349

For my meal I ordered the grilled salmon salad. Boy was this a bust. It’s like whoever created this salad for the menu didn’t bother to taste it. All it is is greens, pine nuts, grilled salmon with a dijion sauce, and some sort of vinaigrette. It didn’t go together at all. I felt like it really needed some fresh fruit and cheese in the salad. I managed about half of it and decided to eat more fried onions instead. 

We awesomely made it out of the establishment making $2 bucks! The service was really bad and the food forgettable.

p20111222-194445

Next up Chase surprised me with a stop at this crazy house here in town that does this huge lights display! I ❤ xmas lights! We got out of the car and walked around this house, snapping photos, grinning stupidly, and trying to stay warm!

p20111222-194359p20111222-194518

They even had a mini display of their own house! How cute is that? After those cute lights we went and parked the car in front of another house to watch a half hour long light show! It was pretty cool. They broadcasted the music on a radio channel that was perfectly in time with the flashing lights. =)

p20111222-211304

Lastly, on this amazing Solstice night, we ended up at my old lab partner Steph’s holiday party/cookie swap! Oh yes, there was cookies. (I brought my peppermint swirl cookies) I ended up having some hot spiced mulled wine (just a little) and Chase and I tried to do a tasting of every cookie. We definitely didn’t get to all of them but it was fun not having to eat whole cookies by ourselves. We split them together. ❤ I highly recommended a partner!

p20111222-214058

While we munched, laughed, and chatted, I strung popcorn and cranberries on a string in Steph’s “holiday craft corner”. It was fun but I am so not a crafty person.

p20111222-222955

To finish (our) evening we watched some of the fun acting games before we had to take off. I have to swim(!) and work so early tomorrow!

Overall an amazingly fun and memorable winter solstice! I hope you all did something fun as well.

Leave a Reply

