Feeling Down

Sorry this post is a day late, but I stupidly forgot my big camera that had my morning pictures at home when I slept over a Chase’s! Arg! I am trying to continue to use it when I’m home because it is a nice camera. I do love my new cellphone but the quality of the Canon is always going to be better.

Anyway yesterday morning I woke up in a bad mood. =/ You know, just one of those days you’re not happy with your life, your body, absolutely nothing.

003

I tried to cheer myself up with actually following a recipe for breakfast! I love to cook! I made Baked Sweet Potato Oatmeal for One and topped it with a drizzle of maple syrup and sliced almonds. The flavors were amazing and I really loved the fluffy texture, but it really need some chewy texture in there. It was yummy and good though and it kept me full for hours.

I did a little bit of holiday baking (not nearly as much as I’d planned) and then when I was about ready to give up and crawl back into bed, I decided to do one last attempt to make myself feel better. I jumped on my bike and biked for 60 minutes. It felt great and the time flew by.

004

After showering, my body was very ready for more nourishment. Since I knew I would be “tasting” baked goods all day (from my holiday baking) I tried to make my lunch as nutrient dense as possible.

I started with a big big salad of mixed greens and added a ton of toppings: canned pineapple, grape tomatoes, dried cherries, cheddar cheese, and sautéed broccoli. I really wanted a creamy dressing (for once) so I drizzled on some fat-free thousand island. Then, because I knew this salad wouldn’t hold me too long, I finished off my tiny pizza.

005

After the healthy stuff was consumed it was time to taste test my first round of baked goods! I made Spiced Sweet Potato Blondies with Cranberries and White Chocolate. Yum yum! These were really good and not too sweet. I enjoyed it with my beloved skim milk and had no urge to pick at more.

I tried to start work on my next kind of cookies, but half way through making the batter I realized I was out of cinnamon. =( I started to get dressed to go out and get more and then suddenly all motivation and hope went out of me.

p20111217-142311

I put my PJ’s back on, crawled back in bed, and let my baby Ophie snuggly me to sleep for the next few hours. Yeah…it happened that quick.

Luckily, the rest of my day actually turned out really good once Chase showed up and woke me around 4pm. We talked some things out that really made me feel better, showed each other fun apps on our phones, and then I decided we should go have a nice dinner out.

And what did I feel like out of all the choices Yelp and Urbanspoon had to offer? Why, burgers at Red Robin of course!

20111217_183814.jpg

Since we’re working at taking our time and really enjoying each other while we’re out to dinner, we started with a round of drinks. I got a Gold Margarita (love their margaritas!) while Chase tried a Cherry Lime Flip.

I thought about getting the “Skinny” Margarita but I hardly ever get these kind of drinks so I decided once with a real one wouldn’t kill me.

20111217_184800.jpg

For dinner I was starving! I got a Banzai Burger with a Gardenburger patty marinated in teriyaki & topped with grilled pineapple, cheddar cheese, and tomato in a lettuce wrap. Unlike previous visits, this burger was actually a reasonable size! They didn’t try to cram too much in and they cut back on the lettuce used on the wrap. Yes, this made it so I had to use a fork and knife but I could actually eat the whole thing plus fries without feeling like I was going to pop! I was pleasantly surprised because nothing is worse than feeling so full after eating you might be sick.

20111217_193034.jpg

After dinner, Chase and I walked around the mall window shopping and sucking on this See’s Candies Chocolate Lollipop we were handed for free. Neither of us like chocolate very much but it was nice to have a little something sweet to end our night on.

Psst, I secretly would love to work at See’s Candies not because of the candy (I’d probably get fat) but because I would look soo cute in their uniforms!

 

See it?!

Leave a Reply

