Winter is Coming

Just kidding! Winter is here! Seriously all of yesterday I kept talking about how awesome it was that there was no snow yet. (We’d had snow earlier in November but the warmer temperatures took it all away.) And then of course, my big mouth brought this on:

003

That’s what I woke up to this morning promptly at 8am. =( Noooo! I hope it melts. That would just make my last winter in Montana perfect. Not having to worry about driving on ice and snow would take away so much stress.

014

Vinni was sure glad he had his sweater this year.021

And Ophie is always glad when she gets her sweater. She’s such a baby.

018

But Drusilla would like me to point out that she is a badass. She came from the frozen wastelands of Eastern Montana and has no need for a silly sweater!

002

Due to this terrible chill in the morning air, I decided easily on a bowl of Hawaii. Yes, more Hawaiian oats! I am seriously in love with this bowl of sunshine.

005

With winter here, everyone seems to need to eat a little bit more. It takes a little bit more energy to do anything! So I went through our pantry and got together a box of food for the food bank to help those who need it. It’s funny the kind of things you find in your pantry that you would never eat! I found some Slim Fast soups and Hamburger Helper!

Today for my workout I hopped on my bike and biked for 60 minutes. I’m not going to lie, when I first got on all I could think about how I just didn’t want to do this. But not even 10 minutes in I was feeling good and so glad I hadn’t given in to laziness. You never regret a workout.

006

After working out I almost always starving. Lunch was decided on by Princess Ophelia: leftover pizza!

008

I heated up two slices and made a salad of spinach, cherry balsamic, dried cherries, and feta. I actually really didn’t like the feta o.O. I think I need to stop mooching my dad’s cheese and get my own!

009

A few hours later I was in a baking mood. My dad came up to me a few days ago, handed me a recipe, and said “Byn (that’s what he calls me. For Robyn), could you make me these cookies?” Of course I wouldn’t turn him down! I ended up changing the recipe because they just called for sooo much sugar so I’ll share it with you here today.

Oatmeal Cranberry Flaxseed Cookies

Makes 2 1/2-3 Dozen

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseeds
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda (OMG I used powder!)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, whisk together melted butter, sugars, eggs, vanilla and ground flaxseeds until mixture is smooth.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda(!) and salt. Pour in wet ingredients and stir until almost combined, then add in the oats and dried cranberries and stir until the dough comes together with no streaks of flour remaining. (Dough may be dry so I ended up using my hands)

Drop 1-inch balls of cookie dough onto prepared baking sheets.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, until cookies are set. The tops of the cookies should have very minimal browning, and the bottoms should be only light brown.

Sooo…clearly using baking powder instead of baking soda has a very different outcome. I may have to try it the right way and see which was I like best because honestly, mine weren’t bad! They are definitely not an overly sweet cookie and I’d say the texture is pretty hearty like a biscuit. I bet using the baking soda would lighten it up a bit and help it spread.

I ended up eating 3 right away with a glass of milk and then proceeded to have another 3 spread over the entire day. =/ Yeah, don’t ask me where my self restraint went.

I’m just glad my dad is happy with them! I just need to tell myself they are his now and I won’t be tempted!

010

Due to large cookie consumption I didn’t get hungry for dinner until around 7pm. Man was this dinner something fantastic though! I cooked up a salmon patty and served it with a side of my leftover spaghetti squash with vegetable marinara. It was perfection!

012

For dessert I got myself caught up on my advent calendar with a square for yesterday and the one for today.

Boy did I pretty much fail eat today. Seriously I suddenly start to ignore all hunger signs and just listen to cravings. It is not good! I’m very worried about not working in the mornings anymore because that means I can come home after class for lunch. That opens the door to a lot of snacking which I had a lot of problems with when I was studying chemistry.

My plan? Keep packing my lunches as usual and just stay at the university or go to Hastings to study and eat lunch until I have work at 1:30pm. Let’s hope it works!

4 thoughts on “Winter is Coming

  1. Pingback: Looking Up | Blueberries and Oats

  2. Pingback: A Sunday in Bed | Blueberries and Oats

  3. Pingback: Bye Bye MT | Blueberries and Oats

  4. Pingback: ‘Twas the Day Before Christmas | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

