One Really Good Day

First Date 024

Sorry this is a day late but I had a really great night last night and didn’t make time to blog! Why was it so great? Well, after a month of distance, Chase and I went on a date. =)

But first let’s start with the rest of my day. Since it was Thursday I got to sleep in until 7:30, and then got to work on homework and making myself breakfast! Sure I had the time and the means to make myself a big bowl of delicious, warm, inviting oatmeal, but that wasn’t what my body wanted!

First Date 001

Great Harvest Dakota sliced bread topped with crunchy peanut butter (on one) and almond butter (on the other) plus raspberry jam and ground flax! I always like to get in some nutritious fruit in the morning, so I also enjoyed a big handful of frozen grapes! They have such a nice texture. And, of course, some ice cold skim milk to wash it all down. ^^

I really contemplated doing nothing exercise-wise, but then I decided that was silly since it was so close to the weekend (when I rest). So I laced up my new running shoes and hit the road! I did my normal (about 3 mile) loop in about 33 minutes and it felt good! I thought it would be really rough since it’s been so long since I’d run but it was actually really good!

First Date 002

Around noon I realized I was super super hungry. I couldn’t even wait to cook lunch. I munched on this last baggie of Pizza Pirate’s Booty while I cooked. It was that or pass out..

First Date 003

I love being able to have the time to cook my meals. =) I had 2/3 cup of pasta (sadly not whole grain!) with some more Dave’s Gourmet Butternut Squash sauce, sautéed  spinach (two giant handfuls!), and a Quorn Chick’n Cutlet. Mmm! Simple and filling.

flowers 001

When I left the house to head to class and work I found not one but two arrangements of flowers at my door! Some guys do learn. =)

First Date 005

After work, as always, I was hungry. I knew I was having dinner in about an hour but I also knew if I went to dinner completely starving I’d make bad choices. So I allowed myself to enjoy my daily banana and peanut butter!

First Date 006

I still had plenty of room to have one of my favorite meals at The Shack Café. Starting with one of these pieces of focaccia.

First Date 007

And a salad with basil vinaigrette. I didn’t care much for the greens but loved the tomatoes and cucumber.

First Date 009

My favorite thing though? My meal! Polenta with grilled vegetables! It’s seriously amazing. Even Chase had a bite and liked it! The marinara sauce with it seriously takes it to a whole other level. It’s the only reason I come to The Shack! I ate about half and took the rest home.

First Date 010

From there we went on a lovely (but chilly!) stroll around downtown and the river and ended up at Big Dipper Ice Cream! I had pumpkin ice cream in a waffle cone. It was perfect and creamy. I’ve really been on a dairy kick lately. Even when it’s freezing out I want ice cream!

Anyway the date went really well and I’m happy I am finally in a place where I can give him another chance. =)

Hope you are all having a great Friday!

Leave a Reply

