Detox

Thursday came around again, like it always does, and I intended to enjoy every moment of it. I still woke up promptly at 6:30 due to a hungry baby girl and my own body clock, but then was able to get back to sleep until 9am! It felt sooo good.

010

Once I finally crawled out of bed I made myself a hot and hearty breakfast. Blueberries and Oats ❤

  • 1/3 cup Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1 Tbsp 9 Grain Hot Cereal
  • 1/2 cup frozen Blueberries
  • 1 tsp Chia seeds
  • 1 1/3 cups water

Topped with a tbsp of almond butter and a sprinkle of dried blueberries and toasted almonds. Mmm I forgot how nice and toasty having a hot breakfast makes your body! I foresee oats coming back in the future.

After digesting for a little bit, I stuck to my plan of one hour stationary biking. I’m not going to lie, it was definitely not the fastest I’ve ever been, but it felt good to just have my body moving in a different way than it was used to. I read A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin as I cycled. ^_^ I need to fit reading into my life more.

011

Next came a few hours of cell & molec homework and then eventually I became hungry for lunch! I had no plans for cooking so I heated up some good old fashioned leftovers. Komra tofu, harvest grain mix, some homegrown cherry tomatoes, and a side of green grapes. My eyes were bigger than my stomach though and I had to put a bunch of the grapes back.

After some public speaking class and a side of work, I went with my mother to my first ever detox foot bath. Supposedly the ions created by this little machine will send an electrical current through your body and cleanse things out. I’m not saying I believe or don’t believe this works, but it was a nice experience to try.

002

001

003

My water after 30 minutes was disgusting! I’d love to figure out the chemistry behind this but honestly don’t have the time or will to. ^_^ I’m going to base if it works or not on how I feel over the next few days. I did end up getting a headache during it and it also seemed to drain me of all my energy.

To recharge, my mother treated me to dinner at Café Dolche. Having never eaten here, I didn’t really know what to expect.005

The interior was breath taking. Very open and bright.

006

To start we were given some delicious and warm rolls to dip in olive oil. This made me decided we should go visit Italy. I think I could seriously like bread there.

007

For my entrée I gave the Tagliatelle Vegetale a try. It was house-made pasta with grilled ramps, asparagus, morels & pecorino romano. It wasn’t terrible, but it was overly lemony and didn’t have enough salt in my opinion. I also would have loved more vegetables. =P

008

Unfortunately my mother’s entrée turned out to be inedible due to having a very strange sandy texture to her chicken. Due to this bad experience, the restaurant nicely compensated us a dessert. ^_^ We shared Crème Fraiche Panna Cotta with stewed rhubarb and raspberries & ginger. I’d never had panna cotta before and it did slightly remind me of sweetened mozzarella , but I still thought it was pretty delicious.

I had a wonderful evening with my mother overall and perhaps even feel slightly better about my life having someone to talk to about it.

I don’t know about you all, but I am really looking forward to the weekend! My plans? Farmer’s market and zombie extra in a media arts project! ~.^

How do you feel about detox foot baths? Scam or real?

One thought on “Detox

  1. Pingback: On the Road to Cookie Freedom | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

