Taking Care of Business

010

Almost two months ago to the day, I made a huge batch of Crockpot Steel-cut Oats with Strawberries and saved half of it in baggies in the freezer. Well I finally took one out and attempted to reconstitute it. =/ Let’s just say it was not a hit. The flavors just seemed off and gross and I could barely half of this bowl topped with sunflower seed butter, raspberries, and raisins. I hate wasting food, but don’t worry! Tammy ate it for dinner tonight. ^_^

011

I ended up eating a Stonyfield Organic Activia Strawberry yogurt after giving up on the oats. I’m glad I did too, because I barely made it through all my errands today before lunch! I happily can check off my entire to do list!

018

Now all I need to do is pack and jump on the plane Saturday evening and I’ll be on my way to Seattle until Thursday night! Hopefully I’ll stay well enough on this trip to enjoy it.

012

When I finally got home at 2pm I was soo ready to eat lunch. I’m glad I still took the time to prepare a nutritious one. I had 1/2 Costco-size Gardenburger Black Bean Burger on a Thomas’ Everything Bagel Thin with a smear of Jalapeno Yogurt Dip and romaine lettuce. On the side I had a batch of kale chips and some juicy cherry tomatoes. ❤ It was delicious and super filling.

015

Soo filing, I could only eat half of my dessert. This 1/2 cantaloupe turned into only 1/4 cantaloupe! Oh well, I managed to get some fruit in Chase today due to my failure to finish it.

015

However, even after this filling lunch I ended up having to snack before dinner. >.< All I can say is that evil, delicious Jalapeno Yogurt Dip is now gone so that should end my chip binges!

2011-08-18

I also had a chocolate chip oatmeal cookie craving, but instead of going to all the trouble of baking I opened up the Kashi 2-Bite Test granola bar I received yesterday! To my great pleasure, it was a Peanutty Dark Chocolate Layered Granola Bar, which is exactly the kind of bar I almost bought today at Target!

It tastes amazing and easily satisfied my craving. I think I will use the $1.50 off coupon they gave me and buy some more!

If you’d like to get a free sample too, just check out Kashi’s website and they’ll send you one! Seriously, this bar is good.

017

Due to this excessive snacking I decided to base my dinner on veggies. I grilled (by myself!) some asparagus, cherry tomatoes, and a Japanese eggplant and ate them with the other half of my black bean burger. The flavors were very simple but still delicious. Next time though I think I need to get more adventurous with my sauces.

009

My dinner while pretty, did not fill me up. =/ I started snacking on handfuls of Quaker Oatmeal Squares and then decided to just dive straight into dessert. I made a bowl of the squares, topped it with fresh raspberries, and tried out the new “milk” I purchased today, Silk Almond Milk Unsweetened is definitely one of the better non-dairy milks I’ve tried, but I still don’t want to drink it straight.

I have nothing against milk for the record, I just got this because my dad doesn’t drink milk and was complaining to me about how his rice milk was giving him gas. He hasn’t tried almond milk yet, so I picked some up for him and decided to at least try it myself.

Exercise today was, again, very laid back. Chase and I took Tammy on another hour long evening walk. The sky was breath-taking out but alas I forgot my camera at home! >.< I know I should be doing more cardio, but I’ve only got 2 weeks of summer vacation left so I’m giving my body a sort of mini-break. Once the semester starts it’s going to be swim, swim, swim!

Have a good night!

One thought on “Taking Care of Business

  1. Pingback: Back to the Grill | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

