City of Angels

Sorry I’ve been MIA the past few days. I forget how packed full get together with family is. I don’t want to miss any minute with them! Anywho, here’s a recap.

Friday

I woke up an hour early on Friday to get in my very last workout before vacation. I really thought about skipping it, I was soo tired and worried about my final exam, but since it was my very last day of Level 3 on the 30 Day Shred I stuck to it. It was my goal to finish the 30 Day Shred before “summer” and I did it! (Review to come.)

After 30 minutes stationary biking and 20 minutes 30 Day Shred, I was soo hungry for breakfast.

Family Reunion 2011 002

Fage Greek Yogurt mixed with ground flax, 1/3 cup frozen blueberries, dried blueberries, Quaker Oatmeal Squares, and a drizzle of sunflower seed butter.

So after I eat yogurt, I always set the bowl on the flour for Vinni and Ophie to get some breakfast. Yeah they are probably the healthiest babies ever with all that flax and chia they eat! Anyway, they are not a fan of Fage Greek Yogurt and to be honest, I don’t think I am anymore either! Stonyfield has really made me prefer the thinner texture! (They do ❤ Chobani though..)

My final exam went alright I think. I had the hardest time keeping my place on the scantron though! I’d look at the number I was on on the test and then realize it didn’t match with the answer sheet! It scared me to death but I think I fixed the problem eventually. Hopefully I passed!

After the exam, Ronnie, Win, and Chase were waiting for me in the car to head to the airport! We were there pretty darn early since my exam wasn’t as long as I thought it would be. We decided to grab some lunch while we waited.

In the Missoula, MT airport there is only one restaurant. Boy does it have crappy options. No fresh food.

Family Reunion 2011 003

I ended up with an Avocado Jack Veggie Burger. It was pretty basic and not memorable, but I was so hungry I ate the whole thing PLUS all the fries! Yeah…I think I was ready for vacation.

Eventually we were on the plane and off on our adventure. We went from Montana to Portland, OR to Sacramento, CA and then finally, to Los Angeles, CA.

Family Reunion 2011 005

On one of the stops I grabbed a tall iced non-fat latte with caramel drizzle. ❤ It was cheaper than in Missoula!

Family Reunion 2011 006

Flying to Sacramento, Chase convinced me to try Alaska’s snack mix. It had pretzels, soy nuts, and sesame sticks in it and was surprisingly delicious for only 60 kcal and 2g of fat! As much as I love nuts, this seems like a much more sensible snack for flights.

Family Reunion 2011 008

We flew over Mount Rainer! I’d never seen it before and was impressed my camera could taker a decent photo through the window.

Family Reunion 2011 009

I really like Alaska Airlines since they give complimentary beer and wine! After passing it up on the previous flight I finally indulged in a glass of California chardonnay. It was refreshing and got me feeling pretty good pretty fast! I finished Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoneix while I drank. 

Family Reunion 2011 010

While we waited in Sacramento for our last flight, I got a little hungry and grabbed one of my guilty pleasures, Jelly Belly’s! Yeah..I may have ate the whole box…>.>

Arriving in L.A., we didn’t have our awesome rental car (avocado-green KIA soul) until about 8pm! Luckily, our family is super considerate and waited for us to dine with them at a Peruvian restaurant in Pasadena, CA called Choza Mama.

Family Reunion 2011 011

It had a live 2 man band which lead to a very noisy atmosphere. They were really good, but it made it especially hard to hear anyone!

Family Reunion 2011 012

While we waited for our orders we snacked on rolls with these really delicious dips. Can’t tell you what they were, but the red one was pretty damn hot!

Family Reunion 2011 013

My entrée was a big disappointment. >.< I was stupid and pointed to the wrong thing (which I couldn’t pronounce) on the menu, so I ended up with a giant bowl of fried food. Fried tofu, fried rice and fried wontons! I tried to eat some of it..

Family Reunion 2011 014\

But ended up bumming veggies off of others! Vegetarians eat vegetables!

Family Reunion 2011 017

My super sweet family surprised me at the end of the meal with a piece of birthday cake! I was shocked because I didn’t realize it had only been a week since I turned 23! Crazy loonnnggg week.

Family Reunion 2011 019

Cinco Leche is a cake made with five different kinds of milk. It was really wet and yummy. I liked that it wasn’t extremely sweet, very subtle.

Family Reunion 2011 021

To show that I do eat with others, my dinning companions! Cousins and their spouses: Daniel, Kira, Derek, Rita, my dad Ronnie, and my uncle Randy…

Family Reunion 2011 022

..Chase, my cousin Chris and his wife Gloria, sister Whitney, and my aunt Marlene! Goodl looking family if you ask me!

We stayed up chatting and didn’t get to sleep until around 3pm!

Saturday

Surprisingly, I woke up after only a few hours of sleep! This meant I made it to our super early breakfast at 8:30am!

Family Reunion 2011 024

The hotel buffet had a lot of options, but I just stuck with something simple. Plain yogurt topped with granola, and lots of fresh fruit. Light and nutritious!

Family Reunion 2011 025

Win eventually came down and I had some good ‘ol Starbucks with her while we waited for the rest of the family. The Skinny Caramel Macchiato is delicious!

Since today was the day of my great aunt Aki’s service, we had a lot of family eating planned…pre-service lunch(and shortly after breakfast) meal was at a Chinese restaurant called Hap Li.

Family Reunion 2011 027

Family Reunion 2011 028

Family Reunion 2011 029

More proof of social interactions!

Family Reunion 2011 030

Really gross egg drop soup. Took one bite and ate no more. Is it supposed to be sooo thick?

Family Reunion 2011 031

I did eat a vegetarian egg roll and a Chinese bun with a little plum sauce, cilantro and green onion.

Family Reunion 2011 032

And the dishes just kept coming and none of us were very hungry! We tried to dent them but it just didn’t work out. I had a little rice and vegetables and some tofu dish. I didn’t really care for the tofu since the texture was very slimy. I like it firmer!

Family Reunion 2011 048

Next on the schedule was my great aunt Aki Sakamoto’s memorial service. It was a very touching service and I cried the whole way through it. I know it was her time and she had a great life, but I still miss her. By the reception I had a headache and still kept tearing up. I ate a few cookies to help with the shakiness and an Advil.

To recover, I had to get out of there so I went with my cousin Chris and his wife Gloria to go meet their 6 week old baby, Raiden.

IMAG0299

It was very calming to hold him (well at least until his monitor’s started going off!). He is doing very well though (born 3 months early), and should hopefully be going home in 2-3 weeks!

From there we headed to dinner at Green Street Tavern.

Family Reunion 2011 035

Family Reunion 2011 038

I felt even better with 1.5 glasses of red wine.

Family Reunion 2011 040

It was a fixed menu since we were a party of 21 (I think..) so there was no choosing. I sometimes really like that since it’s fun to be surprised! We started with appetizers: grilled tomato with balsamic and burrata cheese. It was really tasty!

Family Reunion 2011 041

The Caesar salad was really tasty but way over dressed for me. I ate every bite though!

Family Reunion 2011 043

The vegetarian entrée was a very tasty but very rich and heavy fettuccini alfredo with arugula, asparagus and mushrooms. I think I managed about a third of it.

Family Reunion 2011 044

The best thing from The Green Street Tavern though, was definitely the croissant white chocolate bread pudding. Yes that’s right. Bread pudding made with croissants and drizzled with white chocolate, a berry sauce, blueberries, and powdered sugar! I almost ate the whole thing it was so good left a third.

Family Reunion 2011 045

After a lot of talking, the “kids” headed out to The Yard House for dinks. I got a Juniper Fusion which was as refreshing and delicious as a gin and tonic! I justify this really bad unfocused picture due to the alcohol!

Family Reunion 2011 046

The “kids”! It was so nice getting to catch up with everyone. I really do look forward to seeing my whole family once every year. ❤

I will be posting for Sunday later tonight so stay tuned! And in case you haven’t entered, check out my Stonyfield Organic Activia Giveaway! ((I CAN’T BELIEVE IT NEVER POSTED!! Please check it out so I don’t have a fail giveaway!))

Leave a Reply

